THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Friday, Jan. 9, 2004 - 11:29 p.m.

The view from my old room

This is weird. It�s quite crazy, really. I�m sitting here on my bed at my parents� house, my laptop on my lap. My allergies and the presence of the cat in the house have caused me to sneeze. He�s probably been here, on my bed, recently. He likes it here every once in a while. I know I caught him in here during one of my last three visits here.

But tonight this seems more weird than usual. I don�t know if it�s the fact that I�m up here at 10:30, not ready to sleep, without Casey, but I�m looking around more. I�m noticing more. I�m reminicing more. I haven�t logged onto the internet regularly on this computer since August 2002, when I covered my last BlueClaws game for the paper. That�s 18 months ago now. And I believe the only time in those 18 months I�ve connected to the internet here using this computer was during last year�s Oscars telecast. I brought the laptop home because Yahoo Messenger keeps telling me I�m logged on with another computer, and I don�t know what it�s talking about, so I wanted to see if I�d logged on with this one and not logged out and, even though I don�t have a continuous internet connection, if that�s what�s fooling it. But I don�t even have Messenger installed on this computer anymore, so that�s not it. Another possibility is my parents� old PC, which has found a new home now up here while they use the newer one downstairs.

But if nothing else, I�m most certain that this is the first time since I moved out that I�ve logged on with this computer in this room since November 2001. Yikes. It was here, under those conditions, often at this time of night (but usually later) that I first started chatting with Casey. Awwww.

(Roll-your-eyes side note about my Mom tonight: While watching Ed, I mentioned that all three main actresses -- Julie Bowen, Lesley Boone and Jenna Marie Hupp -- are engaged, which Casey told me the other day. I said it as, �Casey told me that all three of those women are engaged.� My Mom asks who, because Jenna Marie Hupp wasn�t on screen at the time -- and didn�t show up the entire episode -- and then, a few moments later, asks, �Why�s Casey talking about engagements?� Argh.)

Logging on like this is more than a blast from the past. I�m hesitating just a little in using this computer. It feels natural enough to type on this familiar keyboard, with its space bar dented from vigorous use since I purchased it in the summer of 1997 -- yes, coming up on seven years ago. But to cut and paste the URLs for the above links, I had to hesitate and remember CTRL-INS to copy, and SHIFT-INS to paste, rather than CTRL (which is in the same location as the Apple on the iMac and work and Casey�s laptop)-C and -V. I have to remember that if I X-out of the last Netscape window, I�ve quit the program, not simply closed all the windows.

Maybe it�s just because I�m spending some time in here and not simply using this bed to sleep until tomorrow morning, but I�m looking around at this room and thinking, �Wow, I can�t believe I still have that.� Some of it�s in a good way; I�m spotting things I�d completely forgotten about and am glad I still have. Others I see and wonder why I thought I�d ever need to hold onto that. Those I�m going to weed out over the course of this year. I figure I need a few trips with a good chunk of time one day during each one to get through the bulk of what�s left here. That, or I could take a rainy weekend and devote a full two days to it and get it all done. For now, I�m looking at a pile of three boxes at the other end of the room (and it�s a small room, so by �the other end,� I mean no more than two-and-a-half feet beyond the end of the bed) that contain newspapers. On top of the to box more papers are piled. I�m ready to be rid of them. All of them. I doubt there�s any of them I�ll decide to keep. I�ll keep any old issues of my college newspaper I come across, because one day I may put together a scrapbook containing any and all of my clippings I can find, but that�s it. I realize now I�m never going to frame each of the four sports section covers from the Devils� first Stanley Cup-winning series (they swept the Detroit Red Wings in four games in 1995) to hang in my rec room. We�re a long way from my having my own rec room where I can make all the decorating decisions, and that�s a good thing. When that time comes, I can outfit it with way more classy memorabilia.

After the great New Year�s Day cleaning binge, I�m still on a roll. I�m in a zone of organization. At work, I�m beginning to lay out upcoming dates and events on my wall calendar as well as my organizer. I�m mapping out weeks and months and looking ahead to other events, both those related to work and those not. I�ve even printed out schedules to about two dozen minor-league baseball teams in the Northeast, from Washington to Maine, including all those in Pennsylvania, in the event I have a weekend when I want to try to pack in three games in three parks in three days; or if I want to try to plan an extended weekend touring parks with Matt and Brad, as we�ve talked about.I even bought a Mike Piazza wall calendar (because it was half off at Barnes & Noble seven days into the year and it has large spaces for the days) so that I could write down which teams are home when and have a master list to look at and comprehend quickly. I�m in this phase of wanting to know what I have and where it is.

I�m also in this phase of wanting to figure out what I have that might be of value to someone else and put it up on eBay. Back in the early 90s, Wheaties put out commemorative boxes for its 60th anniversary. Black-and-white photos of Lou Gehrig, Babe Ruth and Willie Mays graced them and Mom came home one day with all three together, encased in shrink wrap. I thought it was cool and put it up on a shelf in my room. They�re still there, still in the shrink wrap, cereal still inside. I was never a fan of Wheaties. But I figured maybe someday I could sell them as a collector�s item. I didn�t know how, but I knew there�d be some way. Had I foreseen the coming of the internet, I would�ve surely founded eBay and had the money for that house with the rec room.

I�m not really taken back by the books on my shelfs because I have a good idea of what�s there. I look through them almost every time I come home, in fact, to see if there�s something else I�d like to take back with me. Many are from college anyway, so they�re not as old as some of the things up here. But next to me on the wall, no higher than shoulder height when standing, are a few random pictures adhered to the paint with that good old blue fun-tac. Or is that the proper, trademarked name: Fun-Tac? You see, this bed used to be a loft with room underneath for my desk. These things still on the wall used to be visible only when seated at the desk under the bed. There�s a cartoonish drawing of a baseball player taken from a Mad Libs-type booklet. The faces were originally blank and you gave them life with stickers of eyes, ears, noses and mouths. The ballplayer is crosseyed, with bloodshot eyes, and is missing a tooth. There are two framed autographs of former Notre Dame star Raghib �Rocket� Ismail. One is a collage of photos from Sports Illustrated with the headline �A Boost from the Rocket,� which was actually from a story about Roger Clemens that I transplanted. Another is a two-page spread on Rocket and his brother Qadry �Missle� Ismail from an indoor track meet at Princeton University. Rocket was running for Notre Dame, Qadry for Syracuse. It was at that meet that I got the autographs. The next morning, I called Z100�s Morning Zoo and tried to get on the radio for their �Brush With Greatness� feature wherein listeners described their celebrity encounters on the air. Someone listened to my story but didn�t find it interesting enough to patch me through to the studio. I don�t know why I thought a college football player from Notre Dame in Indiana would be of interest to the Morning Zoo audience, but I must�ve heard them mention Notre Dame during a sports report or something. I wasn�t that high on ND then.

Scattered above, between and below the two framed autographs are some smaller things and a couple of postcards. One is of the Beatles� lavishly decorated custom Rolls Royce and another is of the opening to the Constitution spelled out in �license plate speak� on tags from the 50 states (and Washington): �WE TH� �P PUL� �OF TH� �U NI� �DIDD� �ST8S� etc. I�ve also put up a �NOTRE DAME FIGHTING IRISH #1� 8 1/2-by-11 printout from good ol� Print Shop with a shamrock graphic, a fireworks border and a font probably called �shockwave� or something like that. Next to it is a brochure from Thunder Falls minigolf in West Yarmouth, Massachusetts and a Sports Illustrated cover from October 2, 1989, with Joe Montana as a 49er with the headline �JOLTIN� JOE/The 49ers go 3-0 as Joe Montana throws five TD passes.� Finally, below the SI cover is a Far Side cartoon taken from a color calendar. It depicts a blindfolded fly facing execution, but instead of a firing squad the four executioners are holding flyswatters.

This is what I was into when I was 13-14 years old.

There�s more here, of course. A collage of photos that, based on the subjects, I must�ve made after sophomore year of high school; a puzzle of baseball cards I glued together and hung on the wall at the back of a shelf; a tag from an Elvis Presley t-shirt depicting the commemorative stamp put out. I have no idea when the stamp came out, but it cost only 29 cents back then. There�s more here, but I won�t go into it all now.

I know this is dragging on for those of you not interested in reading about a trip through memorable moments for me, so I�ll try to wrap this up. I�m also fascinated by the bookmarks on Netscape on this computer, the diaries in particular. I�d forgotten about so many of them, particularly the ones that were a little more, shall we say, racy. I won�t link those. In fact, I won�t link any of them because that would just take too long, particularly on a dial-up if I were to actually check them all to see if they work (which I might do anyway, but I�d rather get this wrapped up). Some of these I barely remember; I obviously didn�t read them that often even though they were bookmarked. But those bookmarked include Jerseydevil, Jerseygrrl, Jerseygirl, Lifewriter, Riot718, Viewaskew, Microserf, Squibnocket, Shore-Mills, Bluering, Elabeth, Lichen, VWBoy, Whitebear. And there were plenty more. It�s nice to see some are still around, if not others.

As for me, I plan on being here for a long time. This November election will be my four-year anniversary, meaning I�ll have been keeping this diary as long as high school or college. I�d attempted to start a journal on my computer but didn�t keep it up, then I think I deleted the file because that first semester just sucked, socially and academically. I didn�t want to relive the breakup and all that.

But sometimes, it�s good to get back to where you�re from. It helps you continue to look ahead.

Previous page: Sports talk and such
Next page: Drunk e-mail from the past

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?