THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006 - 7:51 p.m.

Closing up shop

Like a store owner who decides he's outgrown his location or simply feels it's time to make a change, I realized this morning that the time has come for me to close the book on this diary.

Actually, I realized it two months ago, but I'm even so lazy or lax or whatever it is that I can't decide when to put up a pre-written entry.

Rather than make a big, symbolic deal out of it -- such as ending it on the anniversary of when I started it, or finishing at a nice round or meaningful number of entries -- it's better to do it when it feels right, which it does now. So it comes at entry No. 1,051, roughly five years and almost nine months after I first posted a live entry. I turn 30 a month from today, and I see my life differently now from what it was in the first entries on this site.

So, as one might do with a new leather-bound journal, I feel it's time to start fresh in a new book.

Previous page: It may be time for a change
Next page: Closing up shop

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?