THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Tuesday, Aug. 20, 2002 - 9:45 p.m.

Not what I expected

It was really weird. My editor didn't yell, didn't plead, didn't turn red in rage. I told him I was leaving, he asked where I was going, and then replied, "Magazines? That's good. Better schedule."

He was, naturally, sorry to see me go. He said it wasn't the best time, with football starting up, but he understands. He reread my short cover letter over and over -- or he just kept staring at it -- while stroking his stubbled chin with his forefinger.

Then he asked if I'd be able to freelance. He said maybe I could continue to write a weekly minor-league baseball column next summer. He said I should make sure I have that paper work all squared away before I leave.

So it went well. There were tons of complaints I could've brought up, plenty of problems and reasons for my departure. But it's not worth it, and although I would've enjoyed leaving firmly, I think this is better. There may actually be some freelance opportunities in the future, and I may be able to supplement my income decently.

It was kind of akward having everyone at work stop what they were doing and talk to me about it, ask about the magazine, when I start, where it is. I revealed to those who did not yet know that I am living an hour away, that my new job is 10 minutes from my apartment. I just don't like being the center of attention like that, not with anyone but a group of close friends and maybe their friends and relatives. But when it's coworkers or coworkers and strangers, or some other weird combination, I'm not as comfortable. That's why I'm glad everyone focuses on the bride at weddings -- I'll just be that other one up there.

But, man, it felt SO good to cancel all my job search agents on the websites, to clear out the "Jobs" folders in my two e-mail accounts, to purge all those cover letters from my Hotmail folders. I'll do the same with my computer disk, saving only a few spectacular examples of letters and the copy of my resume for future reference -- and hopefully I won't need it for a long, long time.

HO! I love it!

Previous page: \"Why don't we go for it?\"
Next page: What I'd say if I could, but I shouldn't

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?