THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Tuesday, Aug. 20, 2002 - 2:45 p.m.

"Why don't we go for it?"

At some point between 11:30 a.m. and noon today, the editor-in-chief glanced over at his managing editor and said, "Why don't we go for it?"

And by "it" he meant me.

I didn't even have time to wrinkle my shirt. At 11 a.m., I had just gotten out of the shower and started to put on my shirt and tie. At 11:15 I got in the car and drove up to the offices of the publishing company, the same company that houses Casey's magazine. At 11:30 I was walking toward an empty office in the back -- just over the divider from Casey's cubicle, I think -- to meet with the EIC. Minutes later, he offered me the job as a writer/researcher, more money than I'm currently making, and a start date of Sept. 12.

I think I'm in shock. I mean, I'm ecstatic, thrilled to be moving on with my career, to a new venture, after a year of searching. It was only a week or so ago when I received an e-mail from Monster.com telling me my account was up on Aug. 23 and I had to go and renew it to keep it active. I made it before the anniversary.

Tonight I get to go into work at the newspaper and hand them my resignation, effective in two weeks, which just happens to fall during my vacation, scheduled in February. I'm not changing that. I can't, actually, since I'll be going away at the end of it. I get to spend five of my final work days at the ballpark, and I get to spend my final official days on vacation with nothing in particular to do.

I'm not overly giddy, like I expected to be. Maybe because it won't seem final until I do hand in my resignation. Maybe then I'll be unable to surpress my smiles, I'll be rejuvinated and refreshed.

But right now, I'm just hungry. I haven't eaten since I left for the interview. I need to do that.

Previous page: What do teens really know anyway?
Next page: Not what I expected

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?