THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

1999-06-14 - 01:46:33

The long way home

Took the long way home tonight. I had to -- that's what you do, isn't it, when you're down, saddened, dejected over rejection?

I never expected Amy to say yes, but the no -- the "I'm seeing someone right now" -- just wasn't what I was hoping for. "Yeah, but does he have Springsteen tickets?" I should've said. Always the good lines after the fact.

But that's how it was -- Amy said no, and it hit me hard. Harder than I thought it ever could. "Ah," I thought, "no big deal if she says no." What she doesn't know is she broke up with me. I'd already taken her out on several enjoyable dates in my mind. Miniature golf on the boardwalk, dinner at a local tavern, canoeing in Massachusetts and camping in Maine. Drinking down the Shore. We had fun and today she ended that for me. It bothers me, too, that I lost all thought standing there by her car in the searing sun and drenching humidity. Are they a recent thing, or did I have no chance? Was there a "sort of" or "kind of" in there, before she said she's seeing someone? And will we really run into each other out here this summer -- at the bars or our daily workouts? What hurts the most -- hurts, ha, when our our relationship went no further than reporter and assistant coach -- is what she said. "Aw, and we have so much in common too." Which we do. Except she's seeing someone, and I'm not.

So she's the first girl I've thought of asking out in a long time, generating two conclusions: 1. I'm picky, selective, whatever, and it could be a while before I find someone I feel the same about, yet know relatively little about, again. And, 2. she reminded me there's hope -- No matter how long it takes, the next time I think I may never find someone, I can think of Amy knowing it'll happen.

Sometime.

I hope I'll have a chance to thank her for all of this someday.

Previous page: St. Patrick's Day, NYC
Next page: Arizona: Freedom in the desert

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?