THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

1999-03-17 - 02:42:00

St. Patrick's Day, NYC

"Dan!"

I turn around to see who called my name.

"Christine and Mary!"

And we hugged, like long-lost friends of high school years 10 years ago, and no longer just a professional relationship.

"Help us," they said, drunk in that small 23rd Street pub amid all the drunken St. Patrick's Day revellers. "We need to get home."

And immediately I was sober, clearing my head now, save for the mission of getting them home to their mother, waiting in the moody darkness of suburban New Jersey riverside night.

1 a.m. New York City on a Wednesday night and it's still alive -- people on the streets, people in the bars, people waiting for the train -- Penn Station is still bustling now with bleary-eyed, tired, drunken (including myself) young revellers on this crazy night.

The train board 1:35 -- 1:40 -- 1:46 -- then -- 4:44 -- 5:25 -- 5:52 -- 6:00 -- 6:03.

Late night New York never sleeps.

Penn Station 1 a.m. -- someplace I never could've imagined I'd be after another wonderful New York party night -- Elise and her friends -- 212-244-5704 for Amy, written on my hand -- I've come to know in some way after two nights. And Elise, herself a girl I knew in high school now a woman I know in New York -- and all the new info I've now since learned about other pairs of our group -- a soap opera. I never would've imagined. But Elise and I have grown closer in a few weeks, a few drunken party nights in dirty, mysterious, dark New York. Tonight how she made me talk -- of our friends, descriptions and ranking, a depth chart of their looks and personalities. And all this with her -- whom I had to include.

But now I sit, waiting for southbound North Jersey Coast Line train to leave the station and I remember them, those beautiful, gorgeous, elegant, exotic, sexy women of the New York night. I want to know and love in nights to come.

"No vomitting on the train, please. No vomitting." He actually did just say that tonight -- this morning, as we St. Patrick's Day partiers head home to suburbia.

Previous page: Springsteen on the beach
Next page: The long way home

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?