THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Wednesday, Jul. 17, 2002 - 4:18 p.m.

Home again, home again, jiggity-jig

My intentions were to make it a Complete Vacation. I was going to do nothing that I do in my normal routine; in fact, I figured, I should do some things directly opposite of the way I do them throughout the majority of the year. So that would mean not actively getting a newspaper to keep up with the news or follow my fantasy baseball players. It would mean not following the Mets day in and day out. It would mean ignoring my e-mail for 10 straight days and not even thinking about a diary update. And I wasn�t going to even think about my job hunt.

Technically, were I to do everything the opposite, it would also mean not showering, not shaving, not sleeping at night and not being awake during the day, but how is that a vacation? I managed to do some of the things I�d intended. I didn�t come close to updating, though I brought a journal in which to write out entries daily. I didn�t even do that; the most writing I did from July 4 through the 14th was notes and quotes in my little Kerouacian notebook I carried with me. I checked e-mail three times, but only to delete junk mail and scan any important correspondence that couldn�t wait until my return. I managed to neglect it enough that each time I checked my secondary account (the one that gets all the spam and has a filled block senders list), it was over capacity with more than 100 new messages and no longer accepting e-mails. I bought only one newspaper, in part to get smaller bills and to read about the death of the father and daughter from Naperville (the father who killed his ex-wife, took their daughter, then drove his SUV into the path of a semi on an Iowa highway). I did check up on the Mets, but that was easy enough since I flipped on SportsCenter for a little while most days.

So now I am left with the question of how to recap the vacation. It was long and varied. Not only did it start, in some respect, on July 4 when Casey and I went to my uncle�s to swim and eat (I did have to leave for one last night of work -- and double pay), but it included events in three towns of western Pennsylvania, one early stop in South Bend, three days in Chicago, then a return to South Bend. I do not want to do a standard (for me) linear day-by-day recap. I can�t really divide it up by stops, since South Bend is broken up and all the adventures in PA overlap geographically. I want to put more effort into it than listing times and dates and places and events. I want to create a story, weave in narration and reaction, description and quotation.

That, however, will take more time than I can afford right now. I still have laundry to finish. I have my car to pick up (and must figure out how to get to the mechanic). I have photos to get at the developer. I need to go to work. And my parents are on a later flight, so I have to get them at the train station (hopefully) or the airport (please, no) and send the night here, since I do not feel like going to Newark, back to Little Silver, then back to Edgewater.

So for now, I post this introduction. I suppose I�ll sit down as often as I can over the next two (it�ll probably become three) days and write it all out, then post the various parts as I complete them. It kills me, because all I really wanna do is get through it, but the Internet has so many distractions. I�ll have to apply myself.

And I�ll have to write is offline, then post it.

Laundry calls! Yet another reminder that you�ve returned home...

Previous page: I know my stuff
Next page: Car talk

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?