THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Sunday, Feb. 2, 2003 - 9:55 a.m.

David Gray, in short

I am a stupid wanderer and need to learn to stay put.

Otherwise, the David Gray show was a blast. Our seats were great: about the 12th row up from the floor (though third from a walkway), straight back from just left of center stage. No obstructions, except when the tall woman in front stood up, but when we stood, we could see over her.

There's always one song at a concert that I grow to like more than the album version, and on Friday it was "Long Distance Call." And "Babylon" and "Please Forgive Me" did not disappoint. Gray's cover of fellow Irishman Van Morrison's "And It Stoned Me" was a pleasant surprise.

And then, sleeping on the pullout at Kerry's, I was awakened by her roommate and boyfriend, neither of whom have "inside voices," whether drunk or sober. They woke me at 9 a.m. yesterday, too, talking for an hour before turning on the TV. "Finally," I thought, "at least they'll shut up a little while watching TV and I can sleep a little longer." But then I heard, from the room, the grave voices of TV newspersons and the word "shuttle" over and over, and I knew it couldn't be a good thing. It's been a long time since launches and landings of the space shuttle were anything but footnotes in the news each night. That's when I turned on the TV. More on all that later. For now, the setlist; tomorrow, more on the weekend. I've got to eat breakfast -- Heather will be here in an hour!

Madison Square Garden, Jan. 31, 2003
The Other Side
Dead in the Water
White Ladder
Real Love
Sail Away
Nightblindness
Twilight
Long Distance Call
We're Not Right
Last Boat to America
Kangaroo
Late Nite Radio
Faster Sooner Now
Everytime
My Oh My
Be Mine
Silver Lining
Babylon

Encore:
This Year's Love
And It Stoned Me
Shine
Hold On
Easy Way to Cry
Freedom
Say Hello Wave Goodbye
Please Forgive Me

Previous page: Dinner at Tavern
Next page: To be an astronaut

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?