THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Wednesday, Oct. 23, 2002 - 5:10 p.m.

Mailing the ballot

One of the things I like about writing is anyone can do it. Not everyone can do it well, mind you, but anyone can do it. OK, maybe people who physically cannot write, or type, cannot do it, but they can still tell stories, which can then be written down. It's like writing.

So one of the things I like about storytelling is anyone can d�

OK, no, I got off track.

But another thing I like about writing is looking at it as an art form, which it certainly can be. And, like other media of art ��painting, photography, etc. ��observing someone else's artwork can inspire you to create your own. Mere minutes ago, I wrote an entry about how annoyed I am with everyone blowing the proverbial smoke up Barry Bonds' ass. But my heart wasn't into it; I'm just bitter. I can't stand the guy. He's a prick.

But now I've gone and read some other diaries, and inspiration struck. So here I am, back again, to give Wednesday, October 23, sometime after 5 p.m. another shot.

I mailed my absentee ballot this morning. I never bothered to register to vote when I moved, and since I'm moving again next week, it wasn't prudent to do so now. I'm not sure I would be allowed to register in the new town anyway. So I applied for the absentee ballot, got it over the weekend, filled it out (or filled it in?) last night, and mailed it this morning. The county even took care of the stamp.

Since I live in New Jersey, we've got the extra attention brought on by Sen. Torricelli's withdrawl from the race because of the increasing pressure brought on by the Republicans concerning a former benefactor who is now in jail. Nevermind that the Senate already looked into the allegations, found nothing alarming, gave Torricelli a slight reprimand, and let him be. But those Republicans kept at it to the point where Torricelli's lead over Douglas "Finding" Forrester had disappeared into a dead heat. So then Torricelli went and pulled out of the race, at the urging of the state's Democrats, and was replaced by former Sen. Frank Lautenberg. This all happened only a few weeks ago, which shouldn't be allowed because it was so close to the election. That is, naming Lautenberg as a replacement shouldn't have been allowed. Torricelli can pull out of the race whenever he wants. But the Democrats were allowed to name a replacement, the New Jersey Supreme Court ruled unanimously, because otherwise, it spits in the face of the two-party system.

Now Forrester is in a race again, and even trailing. New Jersey has elected Lautenberg before. In fact, in one of his previous campaigns (in like the early 80s), Lautenberg used his opponent's age (early 70s at the time) against him. Now Forrester is doing the same to Lautenberg, who is now 78. That's the best they've got.

At least the TV commercials haven't been as bad as in the past. Yeah, there are still some "so-and-so voted for this [bad] thing," or "so-and-so voted against this [good] thing," but they're not as bad as they were in '96 or 2000. And nothing could be as bad as that 1996 Indiana governor's race. Woo-boy.

So democracy worked again this morning when I dropped my ballot in the mailbox. It remains to be seen if Florida can figure it out this time.

Previous page: On baseball
Next page: Like a sequel to a movie

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?