THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Monday, Oct. 22, 2001 - 10:34 p.m.

Where do you want to go today?

So I took the Find Your Spot survey (thanks, Megan). It's not simply a just-for-fun test, it's actually meant to help you find a place to live. Looking at my list, I'd actually consider some of the places; in fact, I have. But there's no way I'm moving now, not with my woman in Jersey City.

But, for fun, here's the list:

Carlisle, Pennsylvania. I laugh at this one because Bryan and I made fun of it in college because his sophomore year roommate was from there. While Bryan and I would pronounce it CAR-lisle (emphasis on the first syllable), Paul insisted it was Car-LI-sle. Those weird Pennsylvanians.

Lewiston, Maine. I love Maine, so I'm psyched to see this here. I don't know much about Lewiston, though, other than that I've heard of it. But that shouldn't matter, no? It's Maine

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. Frankly, I'm surprised at how many inner-Pa. cities came up here. The fact that I put a nearby college and airport within driving distance for a mid-sized community might have something to do with it.

Albany, New York. I don't know. Why live in Albany, when I have Nashua and Manchester, New Hampshire, showing up later?

Long Island, New York. Megan, got an extra room? OK, this isn't even really a city ;) And the rent/housing costs would be WAY too high, so I'll just stay in Jersey, thank you very much.

Seattle, Washington. Aaaah, yes! I considered a move to Seattle before it became clear I wasn't going too far. BeeeeaUtiful city, I loved it.

Altoona, Pennsylvania. THE CURVE! THE CURVE! I could live along The Curve!

Flagstaff, Arizona. Another beautiful town. Enjoyed my two days here a couple of summers ago. It's Arizona, but it's a perfect climate -- pleasantly warm in the summer (70s, low humidity), and snow in the winter. And an hour from the Grand Canyon.

Portland, Maine. Supposed to be a great town for 20-somethings. I've heard nice things about it, although I only visited once, and I was like 12, if that. I'd do it, but the only newspaper is Gannett, so I wouldn't be doing that there.

Nashua, New Hampshire. It's where I thought UNH was, and if it was, I would've gone around saying, "UNH!" Or something.

Rochester, New York. I've been there, and it looks just like Johnstown.

Manchester, New Hampshire. That's where President Bartlet is from!

Cincinnati, Ohio. Visited this summer for a wedding. Ummmm ... NO.

Tacoma, Washington. Drove through it, and the sign for the Tacoma Dome (their arena) on the highway has a white silhouette of the dome, which has a little dimple on top, so it looks like a breast on the road sign.

Erie, Pennsylvania. It's a little too far away from just about everything for me, I think. Closest cities are Buffalo and Cleveland? Um, no thanks.

Hartford, Connecticut. Insurance capital of the world! Wo!

Syracuse, New York. Almost went to college there, but instead went to its flatter, Midwestern equivalent, South Bend.

Reading, Pennsylvania. What's up with all the Pennsylvanias?!

Lancaster, Pennsylvania. What was I just saying? Anyway, BASSETT, HERE I COME!

Buffalo, New York. See Erie, Pennsylvania, above.

Anchorage, Alaska. Oh, this one's interesting. I'd certainly like to visit, and then I'll make a judgement on it.

Kent, Washington. I'm going to have to consult a map on this one and ...

Bellingham, Washington as well. And the final one ...

Denver, Colorado. Wo-hoo! What a great city! The Colorado plains to the east, the Rocky Mountains to the west. It's a great town, with everything but the ocean. Could certainly be a possibility someday.

I did all this at work. Maybe I need more to do. Unfortunately, the G*( F*&()#@ Yankees are winning, which means more work for another week. All I can say is, let's go Arizona.

Previous page: Time for a survey
Next page: Pondering Lance Bass

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?