THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2001-02-08 - 4:08 p.m.

Hotel fantasy

So I just made reservations for a business trip to Florida next month. I've got to go down for spring training and cover some of the minor league camp for the Phillies, and those dates work out well with their exhibition game schedule.

But it's also tight because of how the Big East men's basketball championship game falls (8 p.m. on the 10th, but I made sure I'll have enough time to be seated at a bar or something by tipoff) and the opening of the NCAA Tournament (about noon on the 15th, and I'm expecting to touch down in Newark in time to catch the day's games).

Despite all that, and how I might not really have time to enjoy myself, I'm excited for my first business trip. Traveling on the company's dime is why I got into sports writing, after all.

But I was thinking today about the traveling -- the hotels, in particular. Well, motels. Having spent some time -- nights, weekends -- in them in various little towns and cities across America, and in recent years usually with a girlfriend of some sort, they've, well, kind of become a turn-on for me. It sounds weird, maybe a little lame, and perhaps seedy (it's definitely not that), but considering that many of my hotel stays in the last five years have involved -- some even been specifically for -- romance in several forms, it's kind of etched into my memory that way. There's just something about the large beds, the thin towels, the individually wrapped plastic cups and hideous tap water after 12 beers that brings back memories.

Good thing I don't travel with my family much anymore; well, at least I don't stay in the same hotel room with them anymore.

In fact, the Hotel Desk Hostess has even creeped into my fantasies, right up there with the cheerleaders. There was one hostess in particular, in a Motel 6 or something in Youngstown, Ohio, several years ago who was very pretty. Only when I got to my room, I discovered that my toilet was backed up, so I called the front desk to inform them to send a maintenance worker with a plunger.

Who knocks on my door but the beautiful Hotel Desk Hostess. I can only imagine what she thought -- I could tell by the way she acted that she didn't buy the story that I found it this way.

That experience (minus the toilet) and others have melded into something out of a cheesy R-rated love scene ...


� EXT. CLEARWATER BEACH, FLORIDA. SPRING BREAK - DAY

CUT TO:

�INT. ECONOLODGE, CLEARWATER BEACH - DAY

The motel lobby. A young woman (played by Claire Forlani) stands at the front desk, organizing paperwork. A young sports writer, about the same age, enters and walks up to the desk.

DANO
Hi there. I have a reservation.

The hotel clerk, JENNIFER, 28, is tall, slender, with brown hair down to the top of her shoulders. She looks up to see DANO, 24, fit, well-groomed and casually dressed. She smiles.

JENNIFER
Well, sir, let's get you checked in.

CUT TO:

The check-in process complete, JENNIFER hands DANO a keycard.

JENNIFER
There you go: Room 69. I get off at 4:30.

DANO
Yeah? Better make that 4:45. And again at 4:55, and just after 5 p.m. ...

CUT TO:

�INT. ROOM 69 ...

Previous page: Sorry, I'm not home right now
Next page: "Nantucket On My Mind"

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?