THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2000-12-14 - 12:16:10

O Canada

O Canada!
Our home and native land!
True patriot love in all thy sons command.
With glowing hearts we see thee rise,
The True North strong and free!

From far and wide,
O Canada, we stand on guard for thee.

God keep our land glorious and free!
O Canada, we stand on guard for thee.

O Canada, we stand on guard for thee.

Well, I won't go to such lengths as to up and move to Canada now.

At least I don't think so. I don't anticipate something so drastic.

But after 36 days -- that is, 36 days longer than we thought we'd have to wait -- we now know who our 43rd President will be.

And we have an idea of who our 44th might be as well.

I haven't hid the fact I voted for Al Gore, and I'll wake up tomorrow with a little apprehension about the future of our country come January 20.

But I do feel just a little better about it now. I'm not sure why.

Maybe I needed 36 days to get used to the idea of George W. as president. Maybe I needed a backwards state like Florida to have somewhere to put all the blame.

I'm not sure why I feel better now about this than I did 36 days ago, when the idea of President George W. worried me. But I do.

It will be intersting to see if the country will come together. Will the Democrats be noble about it and not whine? Will the Republicans not shove the victory in their faces?

Will Tennessee go to Gore in 2004? Hey, that rhymes.

I'm really not sure what to think. Throughout Gore's concession speech, I kept wondering what George W. was thinking. "Hey, I was gonna say that!" "Man, why did he have to use that one? That was MY line!" "He's using some fuzzy speech writing right there." Despite all the crap that went on, we've had eight prosperous years. The economy's good ("It's the economy, stupid"). Hopefully it can continue.

Our schools are improving, but Texas doesn't exactly have the best track record under the current governorship.

We've made strides in environmental protection and cleanup nationwide, and the Lone Star State isn't exactly known for its environmental preservation.

I guess what worries me is history.

So we'll just have to see if Dubya can carve his own niche.

And at the very least, we get to see more of Will Ferrell's great impressions on Saturday Night Live.

Previous page: Blowin in the wind
Next page: The Patriot

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?