THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Thursday, Dec. 19, 2002 - 6:03 p.m.

Sending Christmas cards

The question arose this year ��and this was an internal, short-lived discussion ��of how to sign my Christmas cards. Do I stick with just "Dan" or do I go with "Dan and Casey." We are living together. Most of my card recipients have met Casey. All of them know about her.

We didn't really discuss it. The only time it came up was when she asked me if I wanted her to sign my name on her card to my sister. I said, "Sure." I got a few cards from friends over the past few days that had their live-ins' names signed along with theirs, even if I've never met the other one. Matt didn't do it with Denise (but they're not living together), but Michelle did it with Dan in Delaware.

I didn't fret over it, and I'm not bothered by it. I was just contemplating it. In any case, I didn't do it.

I also had to wonder how to address some of the cards. Should I send them to both my friends and their lovers? With Michelle, I didn't, because I didn't know if they were living together. I didn't even know his name. I won't forget it now. And what about Jamie and her fiance Darian (who's name I couldn't remember either). I met him for a total of nine hours this summer at Brad's wedding in South Bend. He and Jamie have a house in Atlanta. First I had to figure out where to send her card � to Charlottesville, where she's in law school; to her parents' home in Newport News (assuming that's where she'll be at Christmas); or to the house she shares with Darian in Atlanta. I went with Atlanta, figuring she'll be there for at least part of the school break.

For others � Brad and Tenille, Laura and David � it was easier; they got married this year.

I am dragging and I don't know why. I'm just tired. So no more from me for now. If I come up with anything noteworthy, you'll hear from me again.

Oh! I do have this: I put on my jeans this morning and pulled a piece of paper out of the pocket. It was a bunch of notes from my Get in the car! ponderings, but written at the bottom, seperate from all that, was this: "His pants are kind of scary." But underneath "pants" I'd written, in parentheses, "parents." So I don't know if it was supposed to be "parents" all along and I wrote it so fast it came out as "pants" and that was a clarification to myself; or if it really was said as "parents" but I heard it as "pants" and thought it was funnier; or if it was really "pants" but supposed to be "parents." I also don't remember if I saw it on TV, which I probably did, or what show. Now that I think about it (this writing has been an excercise in jogging my memory), it might have been morning TV, like Today or SportsCenter. But I still don't know who said it or in what context.

Time to eat my leftover garlic knot from lunch.

Previous page: House-husbandry
Next page: Survivor spoiler

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?