THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Friday, Sept. 13, 2002 - 5:59 p.m.

Everybody's working for the weekend, just not me (or am I?)

Is 350 francs really just $54 American? While researching posh hotels for future photo spreads, I came across one on the Mediterranean in France for that price. The conversion is right, but the units are wrong (Huh -- units). They no longer use the franc; the room costs 350 euros, which is closer to a 1-1 exchange with the American dollar, so it's actually about $342 for a room at the charming chateau.

And thus the excitement of my job. Well, it's only the second day. And I don't have my own desk, phone extension or e-mail address yet because there's another move to come this weekend and then on Monday I'll have My Place. So I can't call places and then have to leave a phone number or follow up with an e-mail and then have to say, "Well, I can't do it until Monday because I don't have my own extension yet. ... No, we are a real magazine. ... No, we're not out yet, but we will be in October. ... I know. ... Well, I could e-mail you, but it would be from my Hotmail account. ... Hello? ... Hello? ..."

As I said to Casey on the way back from our lunch run to the deli at Whole Foods (yes, the one across the street from the apartment), the 10-minute drive to work is almost too short. When I had to drive an hour to work, I still dreaded getting there, but that was because I hated the job. Now that I have a 10-minute commute, I want it to last just a little longer so I can hear the end of the interview or song on the radio, or to hear the upcoming feature that was teased just before the commercial break. I think a 20-minute drive is perfect: Long enough to enjoy the drive, short enough to not tax the car, close enough to not really be late. It worked well.

Still, even with not so much to do today (and with killing time so I wouldn't have to call people and convince them I work for a real magazine), it went pretty quickly. Tracking down info online can eat up minutes, which quickly pass by as hours.

In two days, I also realized this place goes quiet from about 12:30/1 p.m. to about 2, when many people go out to lunch. And around 5:30, it picks up again, with people talking loudly and excitedly about leaving; particularly today, it being Friday (the 13th!) and all.

So I think I'll take a cue myself, post this, and gather up my things. Hopefully I won't be returning to this very computer Monday and I'll have an extension and e-mail to give out to friends and publicity contacts.

Previous page: First Day
Next page: Woke up this morning

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?