THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Sunday, Sept. 15, 2002 - 10:20 p.m.

Woke up this morning

Sundays could become bad. I may not get more exercise than walking the length of this (or our next) apartment. I may not get dressed. Showering may become optional.

It won't be so bad if I don't watch football games beginning at 1 p.m., but the point is, from 7 p.m. on, I'll be a little busy. It dawned on Casey and me tonight: 7 p.m., Gilmore Girls reruns on the WB; 8 p.m., The Simpsons; 8:30, King of the Hill; 9, The Sopranos; 10, Adult Swim. Sundays just became Pizza Night.

The Sopranos began in fine style tonight, with plenty of new plot twists, and Meadow barely made an appearance. They've already whacked someone this season too, which I'd expected. And I'm just too tired to write a more comprehensive review.

But let us turn to college football once more. The final count from yesterday: Notre Dame 25, Michigan 23, Dan's Beers 7. I went to the gamewatch hosted by the ND club of NYC held at Ship of Fools on the Upper East Side. I left my barstool three times to visit the men's room downstairs, but otherwise I sat their watching the game with Mia and other Domers until Casey and Kerry walked in early in the second half. The best part was the half-dozen or so Michigan fans who thought they belonged. They got what they deserved.

But the heavy drinking and the wings later at the Back Page did me in for today. I wasn't up for the $18 all-you-can-eat wings and three pitcher special at Down the Hatch in the Village. I had a cheeseburger and a couple of beers, but then I couldn't pull my eyes away from the TVs, which were hard to see anyway, and I didn't really care about the games. The worst part was I couldn't figure out why I felt so sluggish and out of it. When Carey's boyfriend Matt started shuffling the cards and a five-player game of Asshole commenced, I lost just about all interest in being there. I never liked drinking games, and avoided them in college. Let me drink, don't tell me how or when to do it. I'll watch you get stupid. So I played a hand (and came away as vice president), but couldn't shake the feeling that I was bringing the party down.

But I've been feeling better since getting home. I'm still settling into this Monday-Friday work routine, so it'll take a few weeks, but I'm looking forward to it. Soon it will all feel right.

Previous page: Everybody's working for the weekend, just not me (or am I?)
Next page: Now I feel like it's starting

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?