THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Tuesday, May 6, 2003 - 11:20 a.m.

Whither the excitement?

Since getting a Monday-through-Friday, 9ish-to-sometime-after-6 job, my life has become less exciting. It's not really boring, and I think the overall excitement level is pretty close to what it was when I was working nights and weekends at the paper. Not that it was woo-hoo! over-the-top thrilling then or anything, either. But I think that the day-to-day thrills have gone, replaced by weekends packed with adventures. So I struggle more to come up with things to write about, funny ways to say them, during the week but have much more material to work with on the weekends. I would've loved to have had this diary while in college. Oh, the stories I could tell more clearly than I have.

But there has been one intriguing recent development. One day last week, Casey and I returned home to find a car at the bottom of the driveway. A red car with a "For Sale" sign in the window, no license plates (?!) and, now after nearly a week of idleness, two flat rear tires.

It's very interesting, this random, sudden vehicle at the bottom of the driveway. Because we share the driveway with the house next door, Casey and I must park one behind the other on the right side, leaving the left side for Cranky Old Man, who leaves one car in his garage and rarely uses it and the other remains in the driveway. Our landlord has decreed that only the first- and second-floor tenants (Casey and I on the second, Jo, the kids and shady smoker boyfriend on the first, but they have no car) may park in the driveway, which can fit three cars in a row on one side. There was always talk that Jo might get a car someday, so I wonder now if this is that car. It will make it a logistical hassle to figure out who parks where so that everyone can get to work in the morning with the least shuffling of vehicles.

This car, though, is a bit like The Shed. It just appeared, it's very mysterious, and it talks.

Well, OK, maybe not the talking part.

But she what I mean about my life not being quite so adventurous? I'm reduced to talking about strange cars in the driveway.

Previous page: Ain't it the truth
Next page: Fun with verse

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?