THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Tuesday, Dec. 2, 2003 - 4:28 p.m.

What brings you here today?

Every now and then I remember to go through my referrers to see what brings people to my journal in a particular 24-hour period. I'm usually happy to see one that makes me chuckle or I feel might be worth a mention in an entry. Once in a while, there are enough to prompt an entry just about the search phrases.

Apparently, it's been a weird day since yesterday afternoon.

At www.google.fi -- wherever .fi is -- someone was looking for information on the Los Angeles Lakers center, Shag O'Neill, by Googling "shag o'neill basketball."

"Failed types of candy" sounds like a category in "Scenes From A Hat" on Whose Line Is It Anyway? Mmmm ... malted brocolli balls!

Naturally, 24 hours' worth of links will inevitably expose some of the more questionable minds out there on the internet. How else do you explain "whoville nude"?

With my Maddenuendo installments (another coming later today; I left the notebook at home), there's been much mention of John Madden and, to a lesser extent, Al Michaels. But a search for "al michaels toupee" not only leads to my diary, but several others as well.

As diarists, we're often commenting on current events, whether it's news, sports, politics or entertainment. With her home movies available online, Paris Hilton has been a hot search over the internet, and "fucked paris hilton" must get inserted into all kinds of search engines. Yes, the pun was intended.

The thing about these searches, particularly when they aren't encased in quotation marks instructing the search engine to only look for those words together in that order, is that the person conducting the search rarely finds a useful site, at least not in a journal. All of these searches have been sans quotation marks; I'm just including them to denote what appears in the search box when I click on the referrer link. But you probably guessed that. Anyway, someone looking for guidance on "how to sign a letter as an ex-girlfriend" isn't going to find it here.

For whatever reason you've come to my little corner of the internet, I appreciate it. Really. Thanks for stopping by. I promise to do my best to continue to entertain myself, and hope that's good enough for you.

Previous page: This is what I remember
Next page: How simple?

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?