THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Friday, Dec. 07, 2001 - 12:23 a.m.

Run that by me one more time

So The Move continues and I feel I should have more to write.

But I don't.

I didn't go back to my apartment last night, but stayed instead at the parents' home because I had to be at work early for my performance review and I needed a haircut and to pack up my desk and file cabinet to move up to Edgewater, so I figured I'd save time, money and gas.

The thing you don't expect when moving boxes and things on Dec. 6 is to sweat. A lot. In 70-degree weather. This is just nuts.

So I cleaned out some drawers and threw away old rosters and media guides and things that a year or so ago (the last time I went through them) I thought I'd want to save but somehow have decided this time I really don't want them. I don't know why I held onto them. Like someday in 2004 I'm going to just need to know who qualified for the 1999 Penn Relays.

So I'm completely psyched for this weekend, only because I'm off. Bryan, my college roommate, is coming down from Boston tomorrow and we're meeting up with Mia and Casey in the city and having fun. Saturday, Lori (whose boyfriend - also an ND grad - is going to be in town) and I are planning on having people over to our place for our first dinner party. Then we'll probably go out. YES! A real life! A real weekend! Two more nights to spend with Casey and wake up with her!

Ah, if only I could get through Tessa's entry. I read it, but it made me feel stupid. In fact, it was a lot like when I was in college (understandable; she is) and all my friends would have no trouble with a reading assignment and I'd be like, [sound of incredulous Moe Syzlak] "Whaaaaa????" That and some other random things made for an interesting IM convo with Casey this afternoon

ME: Arrrrgh - Did you see this? > Sailing great Peter Blake killed by pirates in the Amazon
HER: yeah, i saw that earlier. we were laughing about it like the rude people that we are
ME: That's what we were just doing. Fred here was like, "did they have a parrot with them?"
HER: i wonder if they were pirates with scurvy
ME: I wonder if they have BOOTAY.
HER: i wonder if they were bootaylicious
ME: I'm sure they were.
HER: blah! i'm bored and i'm addressing my christmas cards
ME: Blah. I haven't done Christmas cards yet.
ME: That's OK. I feel dumb now anyway, but not from that.
HER: why?
ME: I didn't understand a word of Bassett's entry.
HER: GASP!!!!!
HER: actually, i thought it was brilliant
ME: I almost cried because I couldn't get through it. I think your family's too smart for me and I should just leave.
HER: don't cry! i still love you!
ME: You're in love with an idiot though.
HER: i don't care. you know way more about other things than i do
HER: and my dad's not that bright, don't worry
ME: I'm not worried about him because we'll always have sports. It's you and Bassett who will grow impatient with me and scoff and give each other secret glances that, in the twitch of an eye, say, "Like HE'D ever understand."
HER: oh honey! don't ever think that way
HER: i think you are good enough for me and that's all that matters
ME: And then some day one of you will claim that I can't possibly understand the quest for the philosopher's stone if I don't know the name of the owl and I'll be forced to take classes at NYU to get smarter.
HER: are we still on that again?
ME: no, i just thought i'd throw it in there.
HER: i'm just being picky about the movie
ME: picky/snobby, whatever.
HER: you know i'm a snob anyway
ME: yeah, you are. but a harry potter snob? c'mon.
HER: actually, i think my moom is worse
ME: NO, Moom's not a snob.
HER: about harry, she is!
ME: Well I didn't see it that way.
HER: ok, whatever. i had champagne and pie today
ME: Oooh.
HER: it would not do to be drunk at work, however
ME: No, it wouldn't.
ME: So, didja get my e-mail about tomorrow?
HER: yes - you can go out to eat with bryan and mia if you want, i will p. eat here
ME: Well, it'll depend on where they're going and stuff. I might not like it. But OK, I'll either do that or eat before I meet you.
HER: it's not that i don't want to eat with you - it's the money thing, you know
ME: I know.
HER: i hate this. i hate being poor. i wish we could go out and have a nice meal, but i know i could just cook you something equally as nice
ME: I know, and it's just something we have to ride out for a while.
ME: (God, do we sound married or what?)
HER: ha! yes, but at least i'm not referring to you as the old ball and chain
ME: I call you the "little woman" all the time!
HER: someday, someday, we can eat our way across the u.s.
ME: OK, I have to slide away from this computer for a few minutes ... I'll be back.
ME: (YES!)
HER: i am a little woman!
ME: You're my old lady.
HER: ah, shut it!
HER: so i'm the persistence of memory by dali
HER: "a surreal landscape composed of several disjointed and bizarre components"
ME: you are disjointed and bizarre!
HER: hee! i know! i did a presentation on that painting once
ME: Since I'm ordering dinner tonight, I think I'll probably make myself some macaroni tomorrow night, then meet up with Bryan and Mia or you in the city.
ME: He's calling me when they decide on a restaurant.
HER: mmmm...restaurant...
HER: meanwhile I have tuna salad waiting for me in the fridge
ME: eeeyechk
HER: i knew you'd like that
ME: thank god i don't have to kiss you tonight.
HER: there's this thing. it's called toothpaste. perhaps you've heard of it?
ME: Fred's ordering the Raspberry Fillet (the kind you find in a second-hand store!)
HER: ????
ME: Raspberry Beret (the kind you find in a second-hand store)
ME: PRINCE!
HER: yeah, never actually knew the words to that song
HER: so there's something you know that i don't
ME: Don't try to make me feel better, smarty snob.
HER: i was gonna say - i can have bassett email you philosophical musings until you cry
ME: And toothpaste doesn't cover everything. I'll still know there was tuna there recently.
HER: get used to it, buddy boy
HER: heeeyyy, buddy! (said in brak voice)
ME: I dare you to tell me to get used to it again, only this time say, "Brak, I love you!"
HER: i was trying to paste a picture of brak in here but it didn't work
ME: That's OK, nerd.

And that's more than I needed to rehash, but I just kept laughing. But maybe it's only funny to me.

OK, I really need to find some time to craft more structured, coherent, Exit 109-worthy entries instead of this scattered shit and IM-chat pasting.

But with less than two hours of work left and then two days off, the next you'll hear from me is Sunday night, and if I'm diligent with my notebook this weekend, there should be some interesting, amusing, and eloquent tales to be told.

Previous page: But I have two ears
Next page: Maybe I put my hopes too high this time

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?