THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Sunday, Oct. 06, 2002 - 6:54 p.m.

Weekend wrapup (short version)

I made it home despite the fact that I can never seem to get through Connecticut without there being an accident somewhere on the road that backs up traffic for miles. It's not like I drive through CT every week, how can there be so many accidents? They're quickly climbing my list of Worst Drivers in America.

Suffice it to say, it was a fabulous weekend. Bruce did not disappoint, and the show Friday night was actually better than I anticipated, in part because I wasn't expecting much, not knowing what to expect from all the new songs in the set. But in addition to some fabulous renditions from The Rising, I heard "No Surrender," "Dancing In The Dark," "My Hometown" and the full-rocking version of "Born In The U.S.A." for the first time, in my fifth Springsteen show. He even sat down at the piano, playing a solo version of "For You," from Greetings From Asbury Park, N.J." and playing the first verse and chorus of "My City Of Ruins" there. I particularly liked the countrified version of "Working On The Highway," which added a jam session involving Bruce and Patti on acoustic guitars, newcomer Sue on violin and Nils on banjo.

Saturday I saw Bryan's condo for the first time and helped him and his dad work on the wall they were building to separate his deck from that of the neighbor, and to shut out the annoying family in a nearby house. After lunch, he, Jess and I went to watch the Notre Dame game at Hurricane O'Reilly's in Boston and got a table in front of the projection screen. When Shane Walton ran back an interception for a touchdown, I instinctively jumped from my seat and actually took two quick steps toward the screen as if running alongside Walton. That was funny.

Saturday night, we joined Bryan and Jim for a friend's birthday party and I called dad to confirm the Yankees' loss to the Angels, which made the day extra sweet. But the day caught up to us, and around 10:30 p.m., Jess, Jim and I went in and flipped through the channels on TV until we all left a little after 11. When Jess and I got back to her place, we watched the end of SNL and went to bed.

Today we all went to breakfast, with Bryan's brother Pat joining us, and then (minus Pat and Jim) drove out to Hull so I could see Bryan's mom and the new sailboat before driving back to New Jersey. Jess, Bryan and his parents took the boat out for the last sail of the season. They'll take it out of the water in the next couple of weeks.

And so I hit the road, making it back here in five hours though it should really take four, and I'll get it down to that one of these trips.

But now I'm so tired and frustrated that I probably started the wrong lineup against Will in one of my fantasy football leagues and probably won't win this week, so I won't go into any more detail now.

I think we're going to eat something now.

Previous page: Half day
Next page: I wanna go home

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?