THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Tuesday, Mar. 4, 2003 - 11:35 a.m.

TV Talk

Just when you thought Michael Jackson couldn't get any weirder ... There is no explanation. The guy is a freak, and there's something not right in his head. Whether or not he should be allowed to have children of his own, I don't know. But I do know that he shouldn't be allowed to have slumber parties with kids that aren't his.

And while I've read the family history of Jack Schitt, it's a bit more amusing to hear it.

And I totally missed that yesterday was 03/03/03. Damn! Now I have to wait a year and 31 days until 04/04/04.

* * *

I meant to talk about this last week, but I didn't, so now's the time. I think the Survivor producers have gotten it right this time. The male vs. female setup is fantastic! Think about it: The women can't lose � if the men win a challenge, they were "supposed" to; if the women win, it's huge. I don't think the women are any more upset about losing to the men than they would be in a mixed tribe to lose a challenge. But when the men lose, they care more about losing to a group of women than they do about losing the reward or having to go to immunity. Not only do I love seeing the men lose and whine about it, but I love how they come back just as cocky as before.

With this setup, too, I think there's so much more flirting going on when they do get together. Look at last week's reward challenge, where they played a game similar to Go Fish for hygenie supplies � they were doing more than just asking for matches, especially the guys and the swimsuit model slut girl. And then when the women won? And they all took baths in the river? Hoo-hah! You can tell that the camera operators were men, because when the three young ladies with the boob jobs took off their tops, they covered their breasts with their arms when their backs weren't towards the cameras. It's obvious they were comfortable enough with one another, and I imagine they would've been with an all-female camera crew. In that case, we would've seen pixilated chests rather than arm coverage.

Christy is my absolute favorite contestant. She's got an amazing sense of humor, and I think the women are taking her hearing disability in stride and not really considering it too much. If it were a man who were deaf in this setup, I have a feeling he would've been among the first voted out. But Joanna is a bitch and has to go. I can appreciate her beef with Christy and discussing it with her, but then she got aggressive and confrontational and, frankly, hypocritical. Christy continually tried to explain herself and give her opinion, and Joanna didn't want to hear it. It came down to Joanna was allowed to have her opinion and her beliefs (and to be open about them to the verge of forcing them on others � like how she didn't want the Immunity Idol in camp because it's, well, an idol) � but Christy wasn't allowed to voice hers. All Christy said was she thought Joanna's feelings about the Immunity Idol were "stupid," and I can see her point, as I could the reasons for Joanna's outrage. But Joanna couldn't see Christy's point, nor was she willing to, and I hate her.

This week is providing a welcome respite to the onslaught of TV with a lot of reruns, with the exception of 24 tonight. Alias was also new Sunday, and it was one of my favorite episodes of the season. Hopefully, with Lena Olin out in the open now, we'll see more of her. Though she was sexy in that sleeveless black top they made her wear in "prison," she'll probably dress differently now. At least Jack got some before she escaped. And about that? The limo going under the bridge and losing the helicopter? Come ON you CIA nitwits! I saw that one coming two commercial breaks ago (well, not really, but you get the point). You'd think they'd have a contingency for something like that � like, oh, a second helicopter that could've landed on the road to investigate the underpass. (Nevermind that the car would've been going too fast to come to a stop beneath the bridge that quickly, and that the decoy car would not have been able to get up to speed to make it look like a seamless switch. That's just physics and it doesn't apply to television.) I also thought the juxtaposition of Irina's escape with Vaughn's explanation of his on-the-side investigation of Irina to Sydney was great writing. Just when we see Vaughn saying the result of his research is that Irina's "clean," we then find out she's escaped and is, in fact, in cahoots with Sloane. Still, great ep.

And speaking of great television, Turner Classic Movies is running its "30 Days of Oscar" theme this month, in which each night, beginning at 8 p.m., the network shows an Oscar-nominated film, grouped by theme each night. Last night we watched The Music Man with Shirley Jones as Marian and a young redhead as Winthrop and I said, "That kid looks like Ron Howard." At the end, when they ran the credits by showing the characters in the parade and flashed the actors' names on the screen over their images, little Winthrop was played by Ronnie Howard. Who knew? So tomorrow on TCM at 8 p.m. is one of my all-time favorites, North By Northwest, a Hitchcock thriller with Cary Grant and Eva Marie Saint.

I'm hungry. I don't know how long I'll last before lunch, or some sort of snack.

Previous page: My Broadway history
Next page: Love/hate, though I kinda hate this entry

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?