THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Wednesday, Jul. 03, 2002 - 6:50 p.m.

I know my stuff

I am an expert. When you want to talk about minor league baseball in New Jersey, I'm the one you call.

That's what a semi-local radio station did today when the host wanted to talk about the game, specifically in New Jersey (where there are seven teams, three affiliated with big-league clubs). So for about 20 minutes -- through one traffic update and one news and traffic update -- I talked live on the air about baseball in and around New Jersey.

I've always wanted to do it and I was wondering when it would happen. I didn't think it would be for this particular station, which is based on the northern edge of our coverage area, but the host is a regular reader of my Sunday notes column and she wanted me.

So I took a break from my nightly duties here on the desk and talked minor league baseball on the radio in New Jersey. I stumbled once or twice in what I was trying to say, but for the most part I sounded like I knew my stuff. I talked mostly about Lakewood and Trenton, the affiliate teams in

Central Jersey and the two with which I'm most familiar. But right at the end, the host asked which team out of Somerset and Newark in the independent Atlantic League would come out on top in the end, since the two are tied as of today. "And before you answer, Dan, let me just tell you that Rick Cerone is on the other line waiting to come on the air," she said, referring to the former Yankee who owns the Newark Bears. "Well," I said, "I have a feeling Newark will pull it out when by the end of the season."

And now on to our regularly scheduled topic ...

All my bags are packed, I'm ready to go

OK, my bag's mostly packed. Two-third or three-quarters. I've taken care of the clothes for the next 10 days, and tomorrow morning I'll make sure I have all the extras: the camera, film, tripod, CDs, books, notebooks, journal, toothbrush (etc.) and the what-have-you. And tomorrow morning Casey and I will head south to Little Silver and spend the afternoon at my uncle's house (and in the pool) and I'll go to work at night (and earn double-time) while Casey hangs out with Jess and Dave and whoever's around. And Friday morning Casey and I will be off to western Pennsylvania to visit her parents and sister and Mr. Roger's Neighborhood and the Pirates and Astros at PNC Park. We'll spend the weekend in Johnstown and Greensburg, then cross Ohio and the time zones to South Bend, and Tuesday we'll roll into Chicago.

Three days later, we'll return to South Bend and meet up with folks for Brad's wedding on Saturday, and then on Sunday (the 14th now) we'll have to bust it back to NJ in a day -- 11-to-12 hours, depending on speeds and traffic and lunch breaks.

I may get a chance to update tomorrow, but if not, you'll hear from me again on the far side of the trip.

Happy Birthday, America.

Previous page: If only my car were as indestructable as K.I.T.T.
Next page: Home again, home again, jiggity-jig

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?