THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Thursday, Nov. 7, 2002 - 5:32 p.m.

Terrible twos

So I did some pointless calculating today, with the help of the year-by-year scores of Notre Dame football on the school's website, and I learned that ...

� I've seen a total of 39 Notre Dame football games in person. The numbers that follow refer only to those games which I have attended.
� The Irish are 28-11 in those games, 23-7 at Notre Dame Stadium, 5-4 elsewhere.
� ND went 16-6 under coach Lou Holtz, 10-5 under Bob Davie and so far is 2-0 under Tyrone Willingham.
� My best season was 6-1 in 1995; the most games in a season was nine in 1997 (they went 5-4).
� The longest winning streak is nine games; the longest losing streak is four; the current streak is two wins. The Irish are 11-1 in the last 12 games I've attended, those being the 12 immediately following the four-game losing streak.
� I have seen Purdue and Boston College four times each, with Notre Dame winning three against each school. Both loses were at the respective schools. Saturday's game in Baltimore will be my fourth time seeing Navy. Notre Dame has won the other three.
� The Irish have a losing record against only five schools, but four of those are 0-1 records. The other is Michigan, against which ND is 1-2.
� I've been to five other campuses (Purdue, Boston College, Michigan, Rutgers and Arizona State � for the Fiesta Bowl against Oregon State in 2001) and three professional stadiums (Chicago's Soldier Field, New Jersey's Giants Stadium, Honolulu's Aloha Stadium).

When I can get my computer to print out the year-by-year basketball results, I'll do those numbers too.

I need more work to do.


I made it home from work in six minutes last night. When I turned on my car, I noticed it was 8:51 p.m. When I pulled into my driveway, it was 8:57. It took me twice that to get to work this morning. The main reason is that I hit every light last night. The worst was one when I merely took my foot off the gas pedal to being slowing down for a red, but the light turned green. I drove 40 mph most of the way, even on the 25-mph road, but everyone was doing that. I didn't realize it until I looked at the speedometer as another car passed me. I don't think I'll every break the six-minute mark. Maybe if I use a stopwatch and get the seconds, I'll be able to establish a new mark, but I don't think anything will be faster than 6:00.


My mind is completely devoid of interesting things to say right now.

Goodbye.

Previous page: Two years since, two years hence
Next page: I would've posted 90 minutes ago, but Andrew was hogging the server

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?