THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Tuesday, Nov. 20, 2001 - 11:55 p.m.

A few thankful thoughts

I am now, for the moment, one of them.

I'm now part of the "nobody updates on the weekends" crew, only I work weekends, so I'll update on the weekends. But since I've moved and don't know if we have internet access at the place, my updates, for the time being, will be limited to worknights.

And this is my last work night until Saturday. I am covering a high school football game Thursday morning - a Thanksgiving tradition I enjoy but haven't participated in since 1998 - but there will be no night shifts for me Wednesday, Thursday or FRIDAY! Wo-HOO!

I wish I could take the time to come up with a detailed, heartfelt entry about what I'm thankful for this year, because I have plenty to acknowledge. But I'm so tired and worn out - from seven straight days working, from a week of scattered moving, from long drives, from long days, from short nights of sleep, from being away from my girl for so long. I can see how some people would feel that there shouldn't be one day to be thankful for everything, and there's not. But it's nice to have that one day where schools close and business shut down and people get to spend time with their loved ones and just enjoy the company. There's something to be said for knowing that people all over the country are doing just what you're doing, those who are lucky.

And it's a time we get to consider our fortunes and think of those who are struggling. We get to be greatful for our lot, and those who are able take the time and money to help those less fortunate.

I swear, this was coming out better in my mind, but I'm so exhausted and ready to leave that I'm losing it in the course of thinking it to typing it. Sometimes I'm just not so eloquent.

In any case, I'm so thankful for my family, for Mom and Dad being able to go to Massachusetts to spend the holiday with much of mom's family, some of whom are getting on in years and, frankly, any holiday could be Uncle Bob's last. And Jess, enjoying the last of her three months in Paris, having decided to come home because it's just too stressful to be a continent away from your family at a time like this, to be an American in Paris and having to look over your shoulder all the time. She left the night of Sept. 10, and the world's not been the same since. And me, though I won't be with my own family this holiday, I'll be with another, one I hope to spend more and more holidays with in the coming years. I'll get to see how Casey does with her first turkey, get to meet Tessa, get to know Moom better, get to chat college football (maybe?) with Kerry. I just know that Jersey City apartment will feel so warm Thursday.

And I'm thankful for the way this holiday season is shaping up. I've got time off which I'll be spending with Bryan and Mia and others. I've got Christmas Eve and Day, New Year's Eve and Day off, and then the New Year will hopefully bring with it new beginnings for me.

Now I've got to cruise on up the Parkway to my baby's door.

Previous page: Another little milestone
Next page: A warm Thanksgiving

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?