THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Tuesday, Aug. 20, 2002 - 10:12 a.m.

What do teens really know anyway?

Must make a note that when taking ice from the freezer for drinks that the row of six cubes (they're really half-moons) may seem kinda cool and make it easy to grab several pieces at once, they do not melt quickly enough and therefore create a hazard when trying to drink.

Is it too close to an obsession if I want to watch the Teen Choice Awards just to see the American Idol segment, which will likely be near the end because they know people will tune in to see them?

So Casey is out in the City seeing Mama Mia with part of the ol' Johnstown crew and I could've gone down to Little Silver to have dinner with Dave, but then I would've had to drive back, and I'm going to be doing that enough later this week. I could play around online all night. I could call some people I rarely talk to anymore. (OK, this Idol spoof to start out out the TC awards is pretty funny. Am I losing some of my manliness by watching this instead of preseason NFL football? And I can't believe Kobe Bryant is that guy -- he's wearing a Lakers jersey. It's one thing for a professional athlete to wear a sports jersey, but your own? -- even if it is Shaq's number.) OK, enough of that digression.

I don't think I'd make it as a teenager today. Not that it was easy in the early 90s, but it seems so complicated today. First of all, teenagers today look so much older than I remember. I mean, I can mistake some 14-year-olds for 18-year-olds, but I don't remember any of my peers freshman year of high school looking like they were old enough to buy cigarettes. Maybe it's just perspective.

Speaking of perspective, J. Love Hewitt looks like a suburban mom with her new hairdo.

Eh, whatever. (Maybe I would make it as a teenager, after all.)

I've seen at least two PT Cruisers in the past week that are for sale. One is at work, one is on the way to work. Both were among the first I ever saw on the road. Guess the novelty's worn off. Glad I stayed away.

I saw Moulin Rouge for the first time Friday night, and I liked it. I think I'll come to love it as I watch it more, but I have a mental block where I can't get past the prerecorded vocal tracks in movie musicals. I know it can't be helped, but I think that either from watching too many movies and expecting too much, or from watching too many music videos (which I can't really stand these days) that I have higher standards for movie musicals. But I did love the scenery, the sped-up sequences, the square in Paris, and the Moulin Rouge itself.

Mmmm ... I have a craving for fries from The Moulin.

Previous page: Errands in the Monsoon
Next page: What do teens really know anyway?

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?