THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Tuesday, Mar. 15, 2005 - 12:30 a.m.

Stagnation, that's what I feel

You know how people talk about symmetry and buttflies flapping their wings in Japan and wind in California and all that shit?

I think there's something to that. Here I am, plugging away at work at 12:30 a.m. (not unusual on our Monday night close) � or, rather, sitting here idly until someone can go through the changes that need to be made to a story I've been working on � after a long and trying afternoon. Work woes have also hit Lauren and Heather lately, too.

I came back from a five-day basketball weekend (you'll notice all those entries with "blog" in the title prior to this one) rather refreshed and actually ready for work again. It was a break I needed. But almost immediately, I was reminded again that I don't like it here. I don't like the stories we do, I don't like what this magazine is about. It's just not my thing. But it pays the bills rather well and it affords me a decent amount of free time, with the exception of Mondays. A couple of job openings I've seen recently seemed perfect for me, and I felt I was pretty well qualified for them, but after my initial application, or interest in a position, was sent off, I've heard nothing from either one.

Now I hope I don't hear from one of them. Upon returning to work today, I went through my e-mails and discovered one from an editor here whose last day turned out to be Friday, because she took a job at a new magazine, to which I had written the editor, whom I know. He hasn't responded, and now I don't want him to. I think I'd rather stay here than go there, where this former editor is; besides, I don't think she'd want me for the kind of job I think I could get there. And then, as I'm eating dinner and reading Sports Illustrated, I come across yet another article written by one of Casey's former grad school classmates. She's getting more writing assignments now, and I can see that this is where her career there really starts to take off.

And so here we are, all of us either frustrated, fed up or anxious about our jobs (or all of the above) and trying to focus on the good things, trying to find that next great opportunity, knowing we can do better for ourselves if given the chance.

Sometimes it's just as hard to convince ourselves as it is to convince others.

Previous page: Big East Blog: Championship Night
Next page: I'm going to have to make up for this one

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?