THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2001-03-17 - 1:48 a.m.

A first hint of spring

Today smelled like spring. It felt like spring.

The Lakewood BlueClaws moved from their temporary offices in the office park to the permanent ones at the ballpark. I went over to write a story for the paper, and spent the latter part of the morning just hanging out and bullshitting with the staff. It was a sunny day, still cool, but bright. No jacket required, and in the car, the sun warmed the interior to the point I was able to open the windows and sunroof while on the road.

Then it rained. As I left for work about 5 p.m., it had just started to rain, but it had that spring rain smell � the scent of fresh rain on the pavement, the budding crocouses in the backyard.

You know, the smells that go along with the NCAA basketball tournament. And, hey, did anyone notice how the last game of the day turned out? ND 83, Xavier 71 � or whatever the final was. I just have visions of Ryan Humphrey slamming home 6 points on three different dunks late in the second half, including an impressive reverse slam on one of the many occassions the Minutemen spent more time making sure Troy Murphy didn't get the ball and not enough covering threat No. 2. On the east coast, with the game ending about 12:30 a.m., the Irish did play on St. Patrick's Day.

It's the first Notre Dame NCAA Tournament win since 1989. I remember sitting on the ground in the schoolyard that year, talking with some friends after a weekend game of tackle football, one of those wonderful childhood rituals. All that was needed was six people � three-on-three � at least, a ball and a playing field for a long afternoon of Hail Marys and outrunning tacklers. But I remember sitting on the ground back then in 1989, talking of the men's basketball tournament and how Notre Dame was there with coach Digger Phelps.

Now, 12 years later, I'm a graduate, an alumnus waiting for the hair to turn gray so I can wear the plaid pants. I was 12 years old (I'd be 13 in September). Troy Murphy was 9 or 10. It's good to see them back there.

I didn't participate in any pools this year. It's just as well, looking at how the first round went. Someone at work said Xavier had a good shot at a win tonight � and he was right � but I said I felt pretty good because so many lower (or is it higher) seeds � underdogs � had won already. I can tell you I would've picked Gonzaga, Temple, Georgia State and maybe Georgetown. Perhaps Indiana State. I wouldn't have called Hampton though, I can tell you that. But it's nice to just watch.

So Andy Dick has a show on MTV. Apparently it's called the "Andy Dick Show." But he did just do a hilarious take on Tom Green � the makeup was convincing and he had the voice and mannerisms dead-on. He was in a supermarket parking lot, looking at what people bought as they just came out of the store � and then throwing them to the ground, smashing them, and dancing on them. You had to be there. Or at least watch it. It was funny.

So, after a refreshing yet busy week in Florida and an exciting opening round of the NCAA basketball tournament, I'm ready to turn in and not have an alarm wake me up in the morning.

Happy St. Patrick's Day.

Previous page: Who needs sleep?
Next page: Listen

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?