THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2001-01-16 - 12:25 a.m.

So much to say about so little

I had such an uneventful day today.

So let me tell you about it.

I slept until noon. Always the sign of a lazy day to come. I went out intending to get my car washed -- still haven't done it since the snowstorm and there's all the salt and junk on it -- but it was raining lightly, so there was no point. But I filled the gas tank, which also needed to be done. After that, I took the backroads home, because the gas station I like to go to (because it's the cheapest) is on the northbound side of a divided highway, and I preferred the backroads to making the u-turn.

Too much detail.

Anyway, I took the hilly, narrow, winding backroads through Middletown, past the plaques indicating "British Campsite" along the "British Retreat Route" dating back to the Revolutionary War; past the farms and estates of rich people; past the new home of my ex-girlfriend's parents. I don't know exactly which house it is, because they moved there a year or so ago; we dated in high school. But the street was pointed out by another friend once, and as I passed, I took a glance, and saw a car with New York plates by the curb. I figured that was the place, because she's home for the weekend with her "new" boyfriend, the one she's living with now in Brooklyn. I say "new" because he's the guy she dumped me for all those years ago, and I just should get over it by now.

I am, for the most part, but every now and then I'll just get to thinking about those high school days, and how they were fun and if I wasn't dating her, they probably wouldn't have been as fun and I'd be telling all those "high school sucked" stories that so many people do.

So driving by her parents' new house, seeing the Honda with New York plates out front, I found a happier song on the CD and took the next curve fast enough to bring me back to the present.

This afternoon, I sat down to watch the Notre Dame-Connecticut women's basketball game -- No. 3 vs. No. 1. I figured I'd watch until Connecticut pulled away, the way it's done the previous 11 times. Only they never did. In fact, they never led. After the score was 4-2 Irish, the Huskies never got closer than three points. A great win.

After the game, I shot down to work -- on my day off -- because there was supposed to be a short (60? 90? minute) seminar all employees are supposed to attend.

Only it's next week, not this week, so that was annoying.

Just a moment ...

That was a moment for you, but about four minutes for me -- I wanted to watch (well, listen) to David Gray on Leno. He was good -- he changed "Babylon" just a little, probably because he's been playing it so much. Underneath a denim jacket, he wore a t-shirt that said "As seen on TV," which I found clever.

So, I came home from work, which I didn't have to be at, and had dinner before settling in to a nice evening of television. I tried playing around with the layout here, but I only got so far as to change the colors on this otherwise boring D-land template. I want to add a picture or something to it somewhere to spruce it up further, but I don't know when I'll get around to that. I have thousands of photos I've taken, but without a scanner, I'm limited to the few dozen I've had put on discs. For now.

And that's where I am now, watching TV and typing about my banal day.

A lot to say for so little, huh?

Previous page: MLK
Next page: Notes from the rafting trip

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?