THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Wednesday, Nov. 07, 2001 - 11:20 p.m.

Sing, Buffy, SING!

For anyone who's curious, the last entry has been revised a little with links to some of the things I mentioned.

But now onto more pressing topics.

I've been having a recent "discussion" with a friend about television programming. It started when I pointed out the lameness of the "singing" episode of Buffy The Vampire Slayer that aired Tuesday night. Granted, I've seen a total of maybe 20 minutes of Buffy programming in my life (though I can praise the wonderful acting ability of Sarah Michelle Gellar ... and her body. She was particularly good in that Central Park scene in Cruel Intentions).


So it all started when I brought it up in an e-mail today:

ME: Last night I got to watch two uninterrupted hours of Fox TV, from That 70's Show to The Simpsons Halloween special (which I need to show you for one funny reference) to the premiere of 24, which was quite good and will be repeated on Friday at 9 p.m. if you're interested. Or, I still have it on tape. I also flipped over to Buffy during commercials, and be glad I wasn't there [watching it with her], because IT WAS SO LAME. Did Buffy actually lip sync to any of the songs solo, or was she just part of the chorus at that cheesy ending number? God, it didn't even come close to being as good as the Ally McBeal musical show last year in which the actors actually sang their own lines.

Anyway, sorry for that. I know you love the show. Thank God it's not on Wednesday nights at least.

HER: You are an ass. ... you MOCK THE BEST SHOW ON TELEVISION! Kerry and I LOVED the musical episode last night, although Justine had to leave the room. Ah, some people don't recognize talent when they see it.

And every actor on the show did actually sing their own lines, and the whole point of the spell was to be cheesy, anyway, which you would have figured out if you actually watched the show.

OK. I'm off my soapbox. But I must mention that I don't make fun of any of your TV shows except for that all Y-chromosomes must watch the Simpsons, though if you started watching Reba I might have to change that rule.

ME: The real reason you don't make fun of my shows is because all the shows I watch are good shows ... on REAL networks. How can you make fun of the West Wing (which, by the way, is the REAL best show on TV, which you know already because you watched the Emmys), Drew Carey, Boston Public? Then there are all the ones you watch anyway, like Ed and Survivor and Friends.

Of course you and Kerry loved it, and Justine is the sane one in the house; that has now become apparent. If every actor actually did sing, then the show needs to fire its sound editor, because the soundtrack/picture sync was pretty horrible, if you ask me. When the emphasis in the lyrics is not matched by the expressions on the performers' faces, it makes me cringe. It's why I don't watch music videos that much anymore.

Finally, I must say, that if the whole point of the spell was to be cheesy, then they need to fire the plot wizard who came up with that one. I mean, c'mon, that's a cop-out. The entire SHOW is cheesy -- like they need to have a plot revolve around the show's basis.

The Simpsons doesn't have to resort to cheesiness because it's such sophisticated comedy. Most of the humor of the show is lost on those who are not college educated.

... And I can assure you this battle over good and bad TV will persist as long as you insist on watching bad TV.


I know I am at risk of bearing the wrath of Buffy fans everywhere, but I'm prepared. Bring it on!!! I just don't see the point. I know I'm not wrong (neither is she), and my points are strong and valid.

But I just don't get it.

Previous page: Happy Anniversary
Next page: Write me in Dairyland

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?