THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2001-02-13 - 1:19 a.m.

Roses on the pavement

When I was born they looked at me and said
What a good boy, what a smart boy, what a strong boy

I stopped at a red light on my way home from work tonight, and two roses were lying in the road, devoid of color on the shimmering black pavement made wet by the falling rain. I was the only car there, in a lane to go straight, and the roses lay three feet away, just out my driver's side window.

And when you were born they looked at you and said
What a good girl, what a smart girl, what a pretty girl

I thought for a moment to open the door and pick them up, but I wondered what the point would be. It's just that they were pretty fresh, as if they'd been dropped there recently; they certainly hadn't been run over yet. I've always thought that anything discarded that still looked clean and new should be picked up, that it was a find.

We've got these chains that hang around our necks
People want to strangle us with them before we take our first breath
Afraid of change, afraid of staying the same
When temptation calls we just look away

I wondered who dropped them there, if it was on purpose or a mistake. I wondered if it was a woman or a man, if she was mad at him, if something happened. It seemed sad, these two roses lying on the wet pavement on my way home tonight.

This name is the hairshirt I wear
And this hairshirt is woven from your brown hair
This song is the cross that I bear
Bear it with me, bear with me, bear with me
Be with me tonight
I know that it isn't right
But be with me tonight

I was listening to "What a Good Boy" by Barenaked Ladies. I've always liked that song, the soft melody and the nostalgaic air to it. But I never really understood it. I do that sometimes: There's a song I know and love, can sing along with no mistakes � can often sing without the CD � but then one day I stop to think about the lyrics, about what the song means, why it was written.

I go to school, I write exams
If I pass, if I fail, if I drop out, does anyone give a damn?
And if they do, they'll soon forget
'Cause it won't take much for me to show that my life ain't over yet

So sitting there at the red light, rain tapping on the car roof, wipers streaking across the windshield, roses lying on the dark asphalt, I just ... I don't know ... felt as if I were somewhere else. Someone else. I didn't feel like me.

I wake up scared, I wake up strange
I wake up wondering if anything in my life is ever going to change
I wake up scared, I wake up strange
And everything around me stays the same

Today was a weird day. I went to see "Saving Silverman" with Will, who's on a break from the movie business, having just finished working on "Death To Smoochie" in New York, and we laughed at the flick. Afterwards, we just sat around and flipped through the channels, eventually stopping on "Baywatch" and performing our own version of "MST3K," making cracks about the show and David Hasselhoff's body hair.

And at work tonight, I found out that the word came down from On High (note extreme sarcasm) that the paper would not be paying for me � or any reporter � to cover our new minor league team on its road trips, with the exception of the opening series in North Carolina. I should've been more disappointed; I was looking forward to traveling around the southeast this summer, writing about baseball. But I wasn't more upset because, in the back of my mind, I knew it wouldn't happen.

This name is the hairshirt I wear
And this hairshirt is woven from your brown hair
This song is the cross that I bear
Bear it with me, bear with me, bear with me
Be with me tonight
I know that it isn't right
But be with me tonight

At times the song seems sweet; at times it's sad. I feel like I should be able to figure it out, be able to crack Steven Page's code, his intent in writing the words. But I don't really try to hard, because I like the different moods the song takes, depending on if I listen at night or during the day; in the car or at home; alone or with someone.

I couldn't tell you that I was wrong
Chickened out, grabbed a pen and paper, sat down and I wrote this song
I couldn't tell you that you were right
So instead I looked in the mirror watched TV laid awake all night

I chickened out myself. I've been meaning for some time to ask out this girl at work, Andrea, but have never walked up to her and done it. I'm a shy person when alone, when pitted one-on-one in meeting someone for the first time. In groups, even with one other person, I do quite fine. I just would've felt weird walking up to her when I know who she is, but she (for all I know) has never seen me. She now works in a different office. But her birthday was last weekend, information I found out from an office-wide message sent out on our computer system by someone wishing her a happy birthday. So I wrote that I hoped she had a nice weekend, and that she got to go home to visit her family (earlier she had sent a message to the office asking if anyone could take her Sunday shift so she could go away for the weekend).

We've got these chains that hang around our necks
People want to strangle us with them before we take our first breath
Afraid of change, afraid of staying the same
When temptation calls....

So tonight, I just sent that message off to her. She'd gone home for the night, but she'll see it tomorrow. And maybe she'll respond, maybe I'll never talk to her. But it was like I wasn't even thinking when I wrote it. I wasn't worried about how I might come across; in fact, I didn't even care whether or not she responded. It's like I didn't care about it at all.

I was just doing it for the hell of it. Which is the key, I guess. But now that I think about it, I did it because I wanted to wish her a happy birthday, albeit two days late. And that is the point: I wanted to be nice, maybe make her smile. You should always wish someone a happy birthday for his or her bithday.

This name is the hairshirt I wear
And this hairshirt is woven from your brown hair
This song is the cross that I bear
Bear it with me, bear with me, bear with me
Be with me tonight
I know that it isn't right
But be with me tonight

So the song has been with me all night. I actually heard most of it on the way into work, cutting off the last verse as I pulled into the parking lot. But the lyrics stuck with me throughout work, and when I drove home, I started the song over again. And I listened through the rest of the CD on the drive, yet the words still ring in my head now.

So maybe tomorrow Andrea will write back, and maybe we'll meet soon. Or perhaps, as with Christine, I'll hear nothing. And if I listen to the song tomorrow, I might hear it in a different way. Music is wonderful that way.

When I was born they looked at me and said
What a good boy, what a smart boy, what a strong boy
And when you were born they looked at you and said
What a good girl, what a smart girl, what a pretty girl, hey

Previous page: Beneath the city
Next page: What I thought six years ago today

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?