THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Sunday, July 13, 2003 - 9:04 p.m.

A whole lotta nothing from Austin to El Paso


Austin to El Paso

I left Austin on the day the United States played one of its games in the World Cup in France. By the time I got to Maine, the U.S. had lost three games and finished dead last in the field of 32. Brad tried to talk me into sticking around for just one more day and joining him and the other interns at an Austin bar to watch the game. I wasn't that interested in it, but even as I drove away, I knew I would've enjoyed spending another day in central Texas. But I said I wanted to get back on the road, to make my way west, to get eight hours of Texas behind me. I guess part of me was a little wary of the drive across the plains and I'd managed to psyche myself up for it on that particular day, and I didn't want to have to go through it again the following day. So I left, and almost immediately regretted it. I think I may have even had a fleeting thought to turn around.

But I kept going, and I soon enjoyed the drive. It was local, state highways for about an hour, past Fredericksburg, and then I-10 again all the way to El Paso. For long stretches, the highway ran off into the horizon and I kept playing leap frog with the same cars and trucks -- I'd pass one, it would pass me, and so on.

I made it to El Paso in the early evening, after viewing Mexico off in the distance in the late afternoon sun. I settled into my hotel and had dinner and enjoyed a relaxing night on my own before beginning the significant family visits of my journey.

Previous page: Remembering Austin, and a great video
Next page: Upcoming events

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?