THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Tuesday, July 22, 2003 - 5:18 p.m.

Traveling in the days before cell phones


Phoenix to Huntington Beach

I love waking up early to drive. Obviously, it's not something I'd want to do on a regular basis. Like, for work or something. But for a vacation once or twice a year, for a special occassion, I love it. I feel like I'm maximizing my time, making the most of it � especially when I'm flying. Why sleep until 8 or 9 to take a late morning flight when you can be there by noon, including a nap on the plane? But driving, you get up early, leave at sunrise � or before � and you make good time � hours, miles � before half the world around you has even hit the snooze button. Traffic isn't a problem, and you've got a jump on the day.

Driving through the desert before dawn was something. There was that sense that things were beginning to stir, that the day was about to begin, even before the sun crested the eastern horizon and began baking the sand and rock. It made the dull brown cliffs in the distance glow orange, the dark sky above transformed to a deep blue, then sapphire, then azure. I sped west, trying to get to the Pacific before the sun really made the blacktop sizzle.

This trip five years ago was undertaken before the widespread proliferation of cell phones. My family had one: a gray, bulky thing that you needed a fanny pack or other small bag to carry around with you. Your pocket was out of the question; a belt holster would add three inches to your width. Roaming charges were horrendous, so my mother had bestowed it upon me "only for emergencies." I ended up using it frivolously once, in South Bend, to tell them I was watching the filming of an Adidas commercial in which Joe Montana was supposed to appear. But not having a cell phone meant that I had to use pay phones or the phones of people I was visiting to make calls, and receive them. People called me at the homes of friends and relatives, in hotels, to arrange when I'd come to their place. In meeting Mike and Barb in California, I had to make three phone calls in order to reach them in San Diego. When they made it up to L.A., they had to track me down at a cousin's house, Karen surprised for a moment, then handing me the phone and saying, "It's for you!"

But now, now we're accessible anywhere, anytime, without disturbing our hosts � unless of course the phone rings at the dinner table.

This is appropriate for the subject:

You Are A Smart Driver!

Which Kind of Driver Are You?
by Don's Windshield Replacement

This one doesn't relate so much:

dominant
You have a dominant kiss- you take charge and make
sure your partner can feel it! Done artfully,
it can be very satisfactory if he/she is into
you playing the dominant role MEORW!



What kind of kiss are you?
brought to you by Quizilla

Previous page: A Midsummer Night's Cookout
Next page: Take care of your car and it will take care of you

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?