THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Friday, Jan. 16, 2004 - 5:48 p.m.

Quotation station

I'm so tired and not wanting to be at work anymore this week. The clock says 5:30. Half an hour to go. I can do it.

I want to write something, but I'm uninspired. I got nothing. Matt is on his way up from D.C. for tomorrow's Capitals-Devils game in the afternoon, then Notre Dame-Syracuse on ESPN at 6. Hockey, then basketball, beer and pizza. Man, what a good Saturday.

In such cases, we turn to The Friday Five.

1. What does it say in the signature line of your e-mails?
I'm boring now. I have my work address and other contact info in the signature of my work e-mail, and nothing in any of my personal ones. I used to, though. I'd go with various baseball-related quotations, sometimes comments regarding nature. But one of my favorites, which may or may not have once been noted on my profile page of this diary, is from Oscar Wilde, in The importance of being Earnest: "I never travel without my diary. One should always have something sensational to read on the train."

2. Did you have a senior quote in your high school yearbook? What was it? If you haven't graduated yet, what would you like your quote to be?
I did, but I don't remember what it was. I'll have to look it up, but the yearbook is at my parents' house. My freshman or sophomore year, there was a scandal involving the senior quotes. A graduating girl put an original free-verse poem in as her senior quote. The first letter of each line spelled out, "I love you Andrew." Andrew was a biology teacher. After that, all senior quotes had to be chosen from a list.

3. If you had vanity plates on your car, what would they read? If you already have them, what do they say?
In drivers ed sophomore year, we had a project in which we had to price out the cost of owning a car for a year. I don't recall all that it entailed (lease or buy, etc.), but there were certain things you were required to include, and there was a budget. Insurance was one, since New Jersey requires all drivers have it, by law. But one of the superfulous things I added was vanity plates, and they read DAN MAN, since "The" wouldn't fit. I've also considered DANCHIC, a nickname derived from my last name (and my iWon e-mail address). My uncle has had it on his car, though not with the Dan part. In college, I thought of getting vanity tags with ND 98 on them, because that would allow me to still own the special New Jersey lighthouse plates that I currently display on my car (though without the personalization), which are limited to five characters. But it costs extra each year just for the lighthouse plates (with the money going to shore preservation), so I don't see the need to pay more for the personalized tags.

4. Have you received any gifts with messages engraved upon them? What did the inscription say?
No true inscriptions, just my name or initials. My watch, a nice Notre Dame-licensed piece, has my initials and graduation date on the back, I just remembered (even though it's on my wrist now, and most days of the year). And to think I reluctantly remember my graduation day as the day David Wells threw a perfect game for the Yankees. I have a plaque I won for writing my senior year, but that's not really a gift, is it? It's an award. I think engraving is a gift of a more bygone era, and I guess I just don't have the older relatives who do that. Or something.

5. What would you like your epitaph to be?
I haven't even thought of that, and I'm not going to spend time on it now. I've got a lot of my life left, and I'm still not certain on how I want to live it, let alone be remembered after it's over. I managed to copy and paste these questions and then start writing my answers without looking past the second one, so it was interesting to go through them and then be shocked by this one. It's kind of a downer to end on after starting with the signature line of e-mails and then going to high-school senior quotes, don't you think?

Previous page: Wind chill warning
Next page: At the risk of losing you

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?