THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Monday, Sept. 22, 2003 - 9:18 p.m.

Quickly...

I missed out on winning the Emmy pool at work on the tiebreaker. I had 12 out of 27 picks correct, but my guess for the number of actors in the Montage of Death was a way-out-there 41 (because there were like 35 in the Oscar death roll), when there were 18 or 25 show, depending on whose estimates you believe. But I don't think it mattered, because I'm sure that if it were 25 the other person guessed more than eight, which is all that would be needed to get closer than my 41.

It's not that had I gotten just one more pick correct I would've won a little cash (I don't know how much; I didn't want to know. We only put in $3 each though), but it's that I can pinpoint which category I might've changed. And I would've had the winner. I went with The Sopranos for best drama, thinking that with its absence from last year's awards (because it didn't air any new episodes in 2001-2002), it might come through this year. My gut told me to go with The West Wing which, despite a medicore season overall, had two amazing episodes two wrap up the season.

Ooops.

And in apartment news, we're staying put. The new place is really tempting, but when we think about it, it'll be better to stay put and still have money to buy things and go places and do stuff. Otherwise, we'd be sitting around on our Berber carpet with the lights out watching TV in our same old clothes because all our money would be going into the rent and expenses. Just yesterday it crossed my mind that there are several things that it would be nice to have but that add up quickly when you've got more bills than you can handle: John Mayer and Dave Matthews CDs, Jon Stewart concert tickets, visits to friends across the country (we're talking and trying to pinpoint potential dates!). Then, in a year, when I'm that much closer to paying off my student loan and car payments and Casey's got a more lucrative job, we'll be able to make the move with no worries.

Previous page: List crazy!
Next page: The voice of summer in New York

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?