THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Thursday, Jan. 6, 2005 - 3:44 p.m.

Almost pointless

I have been racking my brain the past few days, trying to come up with something to put here and usher this journal into the new year.

All I got is that I don't get how some words suddenly get bastardized into internet slang for no apparent reason. Like "please." I suppose, on the surface, cutting the effort needed to type the word by 50 percent is efficient, but I really don't see the need to abbreviate a six-letter word into "Pls." I get work e-mails like that all the time. Why do we need to shorten an already short word?

Now you see why you haven't heard from me.

Also, much of my thoughts and writing output lately have been very sports- and baseball-related, so I've decided not to bore you. I've been prolific in those areas. But not here.

Our next five weekends look like this: Nothing in particular, maybe a J. Crew return/exchange on Saturday; Phoenix, Arizona; Washington, D.C.; nothing in particular; Super Bowl party. Those should provide something to write about. At least those that don't involve us sleeping in and hanging pictures around the house on a Saturday when showering is optional.

I can't stop yawning. Maybe because I was up until midnight, then couldn't sleep after 7:30 this morning so I watched last night's West Wing. I did manage to use my lunch hour today to return the Lord of the Rings trilogy (extended edition) that Casey's dad apparently didn't really want (though wasn't clear about) and buy the humidifier we need for our dry bedroom, as well as an escape ladder in the event one of our delinquent neighbors sets the building on fire. Thankfully, we've survived the last three years in apartments with no need for it, so let's hope that continues.

Must drink Coke.

Previous page: Remind me: Where am I not supposed to put Baby?
Next page: Assistant coaches are also for doing my laundry

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?