THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2001-06-07 - 7:16 p.m.

Pinch me

This is entry No. 243
To go until the Dano 250th Entry Celebration: 6

Oh yeah, an entry from work.

This afternoon I took my heavy paperback copy of Kerouac's long first work, The Town and the City, and went out into the backyard to the hammock in the shade beneath the trees. I swayed on that soft mattress in the air � it's one of those cloth hammocks, not one of those rope ones � reading about the small Massachusetts town of Galloway (really Lowell) and the Martin boys' adventures on the river in search of their friends.

As my eyes got tired, I put the book down at my side and looked up through the trees, the green leaves high above illuminated by the sunlight, the deep blue sky beyond them, clouds scattered for a perfect contrast. I glanced over at the house and saw a splendid little color pallette of the gray house, brick-red chimney, black roof, deep green pine tree reaching up behind the rooftop, blue sky, white clouds. The colors popped like in a Kandinsky print. I could almost feel them.

I looked back to straight above me, back to blue sky/white clouds vs. green leaves and fell asleep, whiling away the afternoon.

Previous page: No surrender
Next page: Be warned, lest ye suffer the same fate

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?