THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Monday, Dec. 9, 2002 - 5:40 p.m.

It's Christmastime again

We walk into our house now to the largest, most natural air freshener in the world: A Christmas tree. Casey and I went out and found what very well may be the best $35 tree in America yesterday, had it placed nicely in the trunk of my car (with the seats down and the top of it sticking out of the trunk, held down by a bungee cord), and hauled it up the stairs, dropping needles all over the hall, our kitchen and living room.

But when we were done, it shone brightly with 300 white lights and sparkled with frugal yet tasteful IKEA bulb ornaments and various others we gathered from our respective mothers. Last night, as we watched the Sopranos and later Alias, we frequently looked over at our lovely tree in the corner, right by the front windows.

And as nice as it is � as grown up as it is � we don't want it to be anything more than a Christmas tree, a continuation of a tradition we've carried on with our families since we were born. In fact, we're dead set against any of those hokey "Our First Christmas" ornaments and hope that my mother or some misguided relative doesn't mistakenly purchase one. We'd rather have Hallmark's "kissing bears" sitting on a shelf above the TV. Oh, wait ... they are.

I spent the morning browsing eBay and Half.com for Springsteen's "Lonesome Day" single and as I was about to get one, two assignments came in and my day has pretty much been a blur of Lexis-Nexis searches and e-mails and faxes while I check various facts. I am now suddenly exhausted and there's still more to go. Gag.

� � � � �

Well, UCLA didn't help anyone � including coach Bob Toledo � and went and got its ass kicked by Washington State, giving the Cougars the Rose Bowl and USC one of two at-large spots in a BCS bowl game in the New Year. With Iowa having such a good season, it meant that Notre Dame was shut out of the big payday (the $13 million the BCS bowls pay each school and their conferences, but ND would get all the money because it's independent) and settled for the $1.6 million Gator Bowl. Which I don't mind. It's a New Year's Day bowl (12:30 p.m.) against a decent opponent (No. 17 North Carolina State) and a very winable game. I'd rather have ND win a lower-tiered bowl than lose a BCS bowl. Of course, they could still lose to NC State. But no. An 11-2 season and a top 10 finish would be great. Unfortunately, I think I'm rooting for Miami to beat Ohio State and repeat as national champions, keeping their 30+ game winning streak intact. I want Miami to lose so badly, but not at the hands of Ohio State. That's how deep my hatred for the Buckeyes runs. Yes, they're undefeated and I'll give them that. But they're the luckiest 13-0 in history. Even Miami is more good than lucky. And I heard horrendous stories from people who went to the Notre Dame-Ohio State game back in 1995. OSU fans are rude and obnoxious beyond generally acceptable levels for college athletics. It's really a shame.

But then there's the Notre Dame basketball team, which just completed a week in which it defeated the Nos. 10, 8 and 2 teams in America. Last Monday, it crushed Marquette by 20 in South Bend; on Saturday it beat defending national champion Maryland by 11 in Washington, D.C.; and yesterday the Irish came from behind to take down undefeated and second-ranked Texas, also in D.C. Looks like we're better than anyone anticipated. CNNSI.com is putting us at No. 5 in their power rankings, and the Associated Press puts us 10th! Woo!

I'm gonna see what I can do as far as my job goes now.

Previous page: I'm still Danny from the block
Next page: Presenting John Madden's Sex-A-Strator�

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?