THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Tuesday, Feb. 12, 2002 - 6:03 p.m.

Oscar is a stranger to me

The Oscar nominations came out today. I�m a little annoyed, but only at myself.

I�ve not seen any Best Picture candidates. I can tell you what three of the five Best Actor roles were, and one of the five Best Actress parts (and maybe a second, but I�m not positive). So what�s my problem? I have no life.

Casey goes on about how much she loved Moulin Rouge and she and Kerry tried to see In The Bedroom the other weekend, the same day my mom and sister saw it. And here I am with a buildup of books and magazines to read, not to mention Olympic and other television programing I�d like to watch. There is so much I�d like to do, if only I had a free night to do them. If only I had a free weekend. That�s all. Don�t want to continue to beat this dead horse.

* * * * *

I must�ve fucked something up on my laptop when I tried to purge unwanted files from it. I did this a few weeks ago after thinking I�d try one of those �1,000 hours free� deals from the free AOL CDs you get in the mail or with magazines sometimes. But that put too much of a burden on my computer, so I deleted it. I also went through and killed out some other unused and obsolete programs. I didn�t need Eudora mail anymore, since I use Hotmail. But in the process, I somehow made Solitaire crash any time I try to play it, and I can no longer cut and past certain symbols from the Character Map � like the long dash � Uhhh. Well, it just worked on Word, so we�ll see if it translates when I paste it to Diaryland.

* * * * *

I wouldn�t call it The Great Reorganization because I didn�t alter the way my 300+ CDs are arranged, but I did go through and fill in the gaps, placing the new acquistions that had been relegated to randomness at the back of Book 2 into their proper places. So everything is now reordered alphabetically in the places they should be. I decided to do it now because I�m off CD purchasing for the time being, knowing that I need to save money and those purchases are just not possible for me now.

* * * * *

So there�s another controversy in figure skating at the Olympics. This time, it�s the pairs.

I didn�t watch any competitions last night, but apparently, the Canadiens kicked ice ass, yet the Russians still took gold, as they have for years. MSNBC just reaired the two performances, and while the Russians� program was slightly more challenging, the Canadiens� performance was flawless. Those who know what they�re talking about are all talking about how the Canadiens were robbed, and it even led off ESPN�s Pardon The Interruption, a creative, interesting half-hour show that airs at 5:30 p.m. every day.

And the two hosts on PTI hit it on the head: People are talking about it. Figure skating is usually the centerpiece of every Winter Olympics, and although it gets great ratings, the only way it ever draws new or different viewers is if there�s controversy, and they�ve got it again this year. But as one of the hosts put it, how can you call it a sport when, after the athletic part of it, you turn it over to judges? Who knows what went on ...

Previous page: Hooray for lazy Sunday mornings
Next page: Just a good ol' boy

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?