THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Thursday, Dec. 12, 2002 - 5:51 p.m.

Setting the record straight

I just found out that our new fact-checker, Karen, who sits in the adjacent cubicle, went to Michigan. "You beat us this year," she said after seeing my Notre Dame class ring. "Well, my brother says you didn't beat us, we lost the game." Un-uh, sister, I told her. Not this time. We. BEAT. You. Boston College? We beat ourselves. That's the difference, right there.

So after getting home at 12:45 a.m. and already informing people here that I wouldn't be in today until after 11 a.m., I couldn't sleep past 8 o'clock today. It was just as well ��I got up and finally watched last week's ER (after watching the pre-Thanksgiving episode only two days ago) while I went through the CDs to figure out which ones to bring in and upload to iTunes. I also couldn't sleep because I came up with an idea of what to get the seven high school friends for Christmas, and I got so excited over it that I wanted to get started on it right away. But I can say no more because Matt mustn't know. This isn't fourth grade, when we told each other what we'd gotten each other like a week before Christmas.

Casey, who went home early yesterday because she wasn't feeling well, decided she needed more time to sleep, so she called her boss and said she'd be in after 11 too. She came out into the living room while I was watching ER and made some comment about the scene where Sally Field goes into the hotel room with Tom Everett Scott, who's playing her son/Abby's brother, and says, "I'll call you when we're settled." "Don't bother," Abby says, and walks away. "Drama queen," Casey snorts. "It's for the Emmy clip," I tell her.

Then, later, Carter's walking down the sidewalk after his shift is over and gets to his front steps, whereupon he looks up and is startled to see Abby sitting there smoking. "Who walks all the way down the block without looking up before getting to his door?" I ask. "Drama queens," Casey answers. "From now on, I'm calling this show 'DQ,' for 'Drama Queens.'"

My decision on what to wear to work today (not that I agonize over it daily) was pretty much made for me yesterday when we learned that the company holiday party is a formal affair ��jackets and/or ties for the guys, party dresses for the girls. Seeing as how I have two options � suit or sportcoat and slacks ��I could've flipped a coin. I went with the sportcoat after initially choosing the suit. But I discovered I have only two shirts to go with the sportcoat (which is a kind of tan; the slacks are olive), so I went with the salmon shirt and a flower design tie and was complimented on my "awareness of color" or something by the aformentioned Wolverine, Karen. I rarely wear ties; my last time was the day I was hired for this job in August. (Incidently, today is my three-month anniversary of my start date.) I was kind of disappointed that I didn't have a wider range of shirts from which to choose so that I could've tried another tie. But it's OK.

So Casey and I got here after 11 and a trip to Target because I had to get a gift card for the grab bag this weekend. I figured Target is a safe bet because they have reasonable prices, good selection and the ability to use the cards online if there's not a store near you. I love the internet.

So little has happened today. I did some work, but the stories I was checking aren't closing until tomorrow, I think. At least I haven't been told they're closing today. But mostly I uploaded and downloaded music. Yeah. And ate lunch. And M&M's.

Previous page: I'm still here
Next page: Where strip club rejects go

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?