THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Sunday, Nov. 18, 2001 - 9:29 p.m.

Notes from a moving day

� I want to put up a sign along the side of the highway that says "The End is Near." It will be placed about 10 yards behind one of those road signs that says "RIGHT LANE ENDS - MERGE LEFT"

� "Don't call it a comeback/I've been here for years." LL Cool J still rings true.

� "OH FUCK ME!" I say as we drive by Newark Airport, the back of Dave's dad's truck loaded down with my two dressers, my father following behind in his car with my disassembled bed and an end table after an hour spent loading the two vehicles at the storage shed.

"You forgot your (apartment) keys, didn't you?" Dave asks.

Good thing Lori was home - although I woke her up after her 6:30 a.m. return from the NYC clubs.

� MUST get a rug for the bedroom so I don't piss off the annoying, easily annoyed neighbors downstairs who don't seem to understand that small apartment buildings are not as quiet as libraries.

� Must remember to bring notebook with me more often so I don't forget amusing anecdotes from a day of moving, like whatever it was that cracked Dave the hell up on the drive north.

� Lemonade with real strawberries from the Whole Foods supermarket across the street is really good.

� First field trip from the new apartment: Over to Grant's Tomb, sitting atop that tree-covered hill across the river.


At least it was a productive day. Otherwise, I'd be more upset with myself for not catching any of the Leonid Meteor shower last night. Eh, I've seen shooting stars before.

Previous page: Listening again for the first time
Next page: Low-brow

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?