THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Monday, Nov. 22, 2004 - 10:08 p.m.

JFK, blown away, what else do they have to say?

I'm so glad U2's How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb comes out tomorrow. Now I'll be able to enjoy "Vertigo," instead of rolling my eyes every time the iPod commercial comes on. I like the song, and it's nice to hear more than the chorus in a 30-second spot with Bono's face getting all up in the camera. And can someone tell me why -- for the love of God, why -- does Bono start the song with "Uno! Dos! Tres! Catorce!"? You know he's counting 1, 2, 3 ... 14. Does he know that? But for some reason, I do like how it sounds in Spanish.

Speak of the Irish devils ... it's 9:32 p.m. in New Jersey as I write this, and the "Vertigo" iPod commercial has just come on during Monday Night Football.

I also like the background vocals in Spanish. After Bono's "Hello! Hello!" you hear The Edge shouting, "Hola!" Then Bono divulges his location: "I'm at a place called Vertigo" and Edge asks, "Donde esta?" -- Where is it? I'm not even going to attempt to type upside-down exclamation points and question marks or accents, since they probably won't show up on everyone's browsers anyway.


It's been 41 years since John F. Kennedy was assassinated, and as I was reading over today's post for The Writer's Almanac, I thought, "well, there's not going to be anything I learn from this." And yet, there was. Several things, in fact. OK, it's not like I lived through it or anything. It happened 13 years before I was born. My mom, if I remember correctly, was sitting in her high school French class and my dad was in his Morrissey Hall dorm room at Notre Dame. But I saw JFK and several documentaries and I've read books and articles. Yet, I didn't know any of the theories that Lee Harvey Oswald didn't return from Russia and a KGB agent carried out the killing; that Oswald was aiming for Texas governor John Connally, not Kennedy; or that a secret service agent accidentally may have shot the president. Not that any of those are particularly plausible, but I find them interesting nonetheless. I figured Oliver Stone had used all the main conspiracy theories in JFK, but I guess he had to leave some out for time.


Well, the holidays are upon us. One more day of work for me, then it's off to Johnstown. Just letting you know so you don't worry if there's not another entry before Monday. Not that I haven't gone that long without posting recently or anything.

Previous page: Time for a change
Next page: To Pennsylvania and back

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?