THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2001-05-14 - 2:34 p.m.

Mother's Day reviewed

I went to church yesterday with Mom because it's what she wanted on Mother's Day. As we sat there with Dad, I looked over at a stained glass window at the front of the small Methodist church 200 feet from my house, on appropriately named Church Street. It was my grandmother's favorite: A pastoral setting with a moose leaning into a river for a drink. The river comes from a waterfall in the background, with pine trees atop the rocky cliff. On the side of the river with the moose, grass leads down to the waterline; on the opposite shore, the land is overgrown and rocky, and trees -- oaks or maples or something -- grow on both sides. It looks like Maine, and that must be why my grandmother loved it. She and my grandfather bought what basically was a garage with living space above it and 200 acres with a few acres open, the rest wooded, and a river through the woods. They planned to move there someday, at least for the summers, but my grandfather died in 1982 or 83 and soon my uncle (Mom's brother, Grandma's son) bought the place. He left New Jersey to go to college at the University of Maine and everyone knew he wouldn't move back. He met his wife there, and they've since made the garage a home, building a new garage and a family of four.

It was nice sitting there looking at the window, thinking of Grandma and Maine.

During the afternoon, I covered the baseball game and Mom and Dad came down to watch. I spent five innings during the middle of the game sitting with them 11 rows behind home plate in the sun, and then went back to the press box to finish "working."

And, for the first time in a while, after the game was over and my story filed, I was done, and I went home for dinner and some TV and went over to Dave's to watch a movie. The kind of nights you're supposed to have when you're young and come home from work. Not working from 6 p.m. to midnight, then going out for a few drinks in the last two hours until the bar closes or coming home and watching taped TV or going online.

Which I did anyway.

Previous page: Porch party
Next page: New Jersey, greatest place on Earth

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?