THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

2001-04-03 - 1:48 a.m.

It's Michelle again

Heard from my college crush today.

(The quick background on Michelle: she was two years behind me in college, we both worked on the newspaper, she was dating a guy all through college, she lives in Chicago, I live in New Jersey. I think that's about it. You can read about her, for instance, here and here and here.)

So she wrote again, this time to me personally, unlike the last correspondence in December, which was a group letter. And God, again, my heart leapt. I was at work when I saw her name in my inbox, and I read through her e-mail so fast I had to read it again. She'll be visiting this way, moving to D.C. for a year to study and work in Annapolis and she hoped that we'd get together, she said she'd visit New Jersey, and she asked if I'd join her at an Orioles game. "And now that I've heard how close everything on the East Coast actually is to everything else, I won't pass up a chance to hit Jersey," she said, and I'd forgotten that I teased her about not calling me when she was in Boston and Connecticut last fall. She wrote in a wonderful, flowing prose that made me wonder if I was reading something meant for me or a book, a story of some kind. "Anyway, I hear they've got this team called the Orioles pretty close to where I'm going to be, and I definitely would be up for some baseball with a sports reporter from Little Silver." To me, at least, it borders on poetry. Maybe it's the context, maybe it's my tinted vision, I don't know.

Of course, it's clear that I'm still attracted to Michelle. She did, of course, not feel the same as I did when I revealed my emotions a little more than a year ago. And I basically gave up on her after that; I even let our friendship fade, not bothering to keep in touch myself. I saw her last summer in Chicago, and this is the first time I've heard from her when the message has been directed at me since last July.

Maybe her year in D.C. will allow us to get together much more often, maybe our friendship will strengthen. Maybe we'll hook up.

We shall see.

(And now on a random yet interesting note � for me, at least � I'm watching a random episode of "Saturday Night Live" as I write, one from the late 80s or early 90s, and it just so happens that it is the one with Cowboy Junkies' appearance, which I've never seen. Man, this week just keeps getting better.)

Previous page: A great day for Dan
Next page: Close encounters with Springsteen

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?