THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Monday, Oct. 29, 2001 - 9:34 p.m.

Met the parents

How can the Fox network have shows like The Simpsons, The X-Files, King of the Hill, Family Guy, That 70's Show, etc. and then have shit like Temptation Island and that love cruise show?

Ally McBeal was going to be on my "watch list," needing to keep my attention to remain on my taping schedule, but I think it's holding up. I've dropped a few shows already this season, and I think I might pick up 24 and I'm debating taking on Alias, since SOME PEOPLE can't stop talking about it, and it's an opinion I value highly.

Spent nearly three hours at the car dealership while they turned my oil change into my 30,000 mile servicing. Was late for hockey, and then reminded how out of shape I am. Ah well. But I wonder if I shouldn't have jumped at spending $400 to have all this work done on the car just because the dealership says that's what to do at 30,000 miles. I want to keep it in good shape since I spent so much fixing my old car when it got old, and I didn't own it for the first 106,000 miles, so I don't know how it was maintained.

So then after hockey we cancelled out the workout with bar pies at the tavern and I came home, showered, and put on different track pants and a sweatshirt to watch last week's Survivor and root for Boran because, really, it IS so much better than all those annoying holier-than-thou people in Sambura. They all think they're better than one another among that tribe. Then Meet the Parents was on HBO and I watched it and felt so glad I didn't remember it that well when I met Casey's father. And that my meeting Casey's father didn't go anything like that. Her cats can't use the toilet, for one thing. And, as far as I know, Jim wasn't in the CIA, and I didn't bother getting him a gift because I was warned that it wouldn't matter anyway. And his mother's not in an urn above the mantel. Apparently she's somewhere in Florida.

And the rest of the night will be spent in the same manner -- with Ally now, then maybe some Monday Night Football or channel surfing or something. I see now that I'm starting many sentences with "and." It's so nice to write for fun and not for work or something else real.

My cold is now gone, but my throat dries out so quickly now. My nose is clear once again and I haven't taken any Sudafed since last night at work, but I still need water every few minutes. That's continuing to be annoying, though I know it's good for me.

Now I think I want some ice cream. There's some Cool Whip in the fridge and mini M&M's in the cupboard and I think it's time the two meet.

Previous page: When Daylight Savings comes to an end
Next page: He's the hairy handed gent who ran amuck in Kent

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?