THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Thursday, Apr. 24, 2003 - 1:01 p.m.

At least I'll eat my vegetables

OK, I know it's just me, but do you think that if you're planning a group dinner outing for someone's birthday that includes at least 11 people, you'd maybe try to pick a versatile restaurant, or at least send a quick e-mail out to everyone saying, "Hey, does this place look good?"

It's just me, right?

See, I grew up a picky eater, though I've made tremendous strides in the past nine years. It began in high school, but the real progress came when I went to college. I'd say I've tried more new foods and added more to my diet since 1994 than in my 18 years before that.

So on Saturday we're going out to dinner for Kerry's birthday, and the restaurant changed today. We're now going to a Vietnamese place. I'm not going to say anything to anyone, and I won't mention it to Casey after this, but it just annoys me. I'm not sure if Kerry picked the place, because her friend Rose has been sending the e-mails and not including her on them. But she's the one who invited us in the first place a few weeks ago, so it's not a surprise. Of course, Kerry can pick whatever place she wants, but if it were me, I'd pick a place with a wider range for such a big group of people or I'd send out some feelers before deciding on something so distinct.

I'm not saying we should be spending her birthday at Ray's Pizza (though I'll probably drop in for a slice on the way to MeKong), but to me, assuming 11 people will all be heartily satisfied with Asian food is assuming a little too much.

I'm not going to voice my concerns, nor will I not go. Kerry thought enough to invite me, so I'm not going to say, "Thanks, but I don't like Vietnamese" and stay home. Chances are there will be something I'll be happy with, something I'll be willing to try and something I'll enjoy. But this feeling of trepidation, this unknown aspect, has made me go from thoroughly looking forward to dinner Saturday night to looking forward to 10 p.m., when we'll pay the bill and move on to some bar.

Naturally, I'm overreacting a bit, and I'm certainly being selfish � but we're all entitled every now and then. I can handle scouring the menu for something I'll be able to eat and picking at it at my own pace, but when people start asking if I didn't like it, then I'll get a little annoyed. It's always bothered me when people draw attention to what I do or don't eat.

Alright, fuck this. I feel like a baby and I'm only making myself more � and unecessarily � angry.

Previous page: Reunion? I never DEunioned!
Next page: Textbook definition

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?