THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Sunday, Feb. 10, 2002 - 11:59 p.m.

Hooray for lazy Sunday mornings

What a wonderful way to wake up on a Sunday -- warm in my bed, Casey by my side.

It was a slow, relaxing Sunday morning in my empty apartment with Betty MIA and Lori off in New England with Alex. Casey and I spent our first weekend night at my place because my parents were coming up Sunday afternoon. Dad insisted that it would be easier for him to come up and reassemble my desk rather than explain how he'd disassembled it. So they arrived, with Jess, a little after 1 p.m. and we walked down the street to Vespa's -- named for those little Euro scooters, and decorated with them -- for some Italian. I wasn't as ready for my chicken parm as I'd thought, and ate less than half. But I had it wrapped for dinner, and enjoyed it here at work.

Back at the apartment, Dad worked on my desk in my room and the rest of us sat around the living room watching "Jeopardy!" on Game Show Network and then the Olympics. I showed mom my copy of The Rolling Stone Book of the Beats that I'd picked up off the Barnes and Noble discount shelves, and she looked through it and then wanted one for herself. So once Dad finished with my desk, we drove to BN, which was unexplicably crowded. It was more packed than I've ever seen one, even at Christmas time. We found the book quickly, and Mom browsed a little, but it took Jess longer in the coffee line at the cafe than it took Mom to pay for the books. Casey and I just browsed near the front, where a tall, lanky kid dressed in black overcoat and knit cap walked in singing aloud with his CD player and continued at a brisk pace down the center aisle toward the back of the store. We just laughed.

Once Jess finally got the two coffees, we left and Dad followed me to near the Lincoln Tunnel, since it was a different way than he'd come, and then we split -- me to Jersey City to drop off Casey and head to work, my family back home.

And now, work finished and hockey off for tomorrow because of bad weather and one goalie's sickness, I get to head back to Edgewater on a Sunday night for once, and I'm excited. It's as if I've moved in again. I haven't been able to completely set up my room without my desk, and now I've got it. And I've got two days off to unpack boxes and organize file drawers and make it feel like a home, finally. I'm still struggling now and then with whether or not it was a good decision, but who knew it would take so long to find a new job? It was good to take the apartment when I did. I didn't know Casey's lease was up in June, and that may cause some problems, but there may be solutions that come up. I just hope they come up in time.

Previous page: Olympic Spirit lament
Next page: Oscar is a stranger to me

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?