THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Friday, Sept. 5, 2003 - 11:52 a.m.

No, really, THIS is the last one ... for a while ...

OK, so maybe I said I was done with Springsteen shows for a while. I mean, I figured he'd finish up the tour and take some time off, then maybe reappear in a year or two with a new tour, perhaps after a new album.

Then he goes and schedules two shows at Shea Stadium for the beginning of October. Of course, the announcement had to wait until the Mets were pretty damn sure they wouldn't be playing any games in October (yes, it was clear back in June, but you can't admit that as a team that early). Tickets go on sale on Monday.

But then I get an IM this morning from my pal Will.

Will says:
you ready for the gift of a lifetime?

Will says:
dan, this is important!

Dan says:
yes.

Will says:
listen, i just got tix for both Bruce shows at Shea

Will says:
this is how you can get them

Will says:
they're being offered to Mets Season Ticket holders today

Will says:
there is a password you can enter to get the tix

Will says:
hold on

Will says:
let me find it

Dan says:
OK. What site?

Will says:
ticketmaster

Will says:
then for the search at the main page, put in Shea Stadium

Dan says:
how did you get the password? from a ticket holder?

Will says:
yup

Will says:
it's so easy

Will says:
when you click on one of the shows, to look for ticket availability, you have to put in a password

...

Will says:
let me know how that works

Dan says:
IT DID!

Will says:
sweet!

Will says:
you owe me big time!

Dan says:
Yeah, thanks!

Will says:
no problem

Dan says:
Or you could just consider it a birthday present.

Will says:
sure

I think watching old concert footage of Bruce singing "Rosalita" on VH1 Classic this morning (for which Casey came into the bedroom at 7 a.m. to turn on for me) coupled with the double-secret insider info enabling me to get these tickets was too much to turn down. Plus, I'm seeing my favorite performer in the stadium of my favorite professional team. The only thing that could top it would be to see Bruce play at Notre Dame.

I had planned on giving it a shot on Monday to get tickets when they went on sale to the general public, but if I didn't get them, no big deal. And I can only go to the Wednesday show, since I'll be flying to Seattle when he takes the stage for the Friday one, which closes the tour.

This also explains why the first referrer on my stats page when I logged on this morning was "bruce springsteen password shea." Someone came looking for the backdoor key, but I was no help.

Still, it wasn't as weird or amusing as

> "drunk chicks"
>"how do you afford apartment medical school"
>"'my diary' pictures naked"
>"Jethro Tull T-shirts"
>"mike swimming indiana diaryland"
>and "The Way We Were - Complete cast list"

And this one was kinda neat.

I have no lunch.

Previous page: Cravings
Next page: I'll be in front of the TV

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?