THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Monday, July 5, 2004 - 10:10 p.m.

Is Ken Jennings for real?

I watched Jeopardy! tonight to check in on this Ken Jennings fellow.

Wow, what a cocky sonofabitch.

Well, no, not really. He seems like a nice young rich guy. But I swear that at one point during Double Jeopardy! he didn't know the answer, but because he had $17,000 to the second-place woman's $1,800, he buzzed in and took a guess. Later during that round, the clue asked, essentially, who the current president of Ford Motor Company is. Ken buzzed in and answered, "Who is Ford?" Alex Trebek asked him to be more specific, and Ken replied, "I was afraid you'd say that."

By the end of the round, Ken had something like $24,000 to the second-place woman's $1,000. The tall guy in third was $4,000 in the hole and didn't get to Final Jeopardy, the second time that's happened in the two shows I've watched during Ken's run. I think the first one I saw was win No. 8 or something like that.

Someone over at Sony Pictures Television has to be going, "OK, who had the brilliant idea to lift the 'five-time champion' rule?" This guy already has $750,000 and you know the producers are weighing the cost of keeping him around for the publicity it's bringing the show. (Not that they're fixing it a la Quiz Show or anything, but I doubt they're trying to hard scouring the contestant pool for a brainiac capable of taking Ken down.)

I'm just saying.

Previous page: Woah-o-oah listen to the music
Next page: Off to Houston

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?