THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Wednesday, May 29, 2002 - 11:32 p.m.

So people do really track down old friends

So my phone rings this afternoon and the person on the other line says, "Hello, is Dan there?"

I say he's speaking.

"Dan [my last name here]?" he asks.

I answer again in the affirmative.

"Dan [last name] who graduated in 1998 from Notre Dame?" he continues.

That's when the slight bit of hope that it was a potential job interview inquiry left and I wondered who it was.

"Hey Dan, it's Ken [and at this point he inserted his own last name]!" (Heather, you, I think, will remember him. He did some Observer work.)

So Ken recently moved back to New Jersey after a year in California, which followed two years in Chicago, which followed his fifth year at Notre Dame (some complex double-major thing). In L.A., he worked for Disney -- not the theme park, but the movie studio. He worked on Felicity, and now Casey will want to meet him, I'm sure. He spent the last few days driving home across the country, crossing that I-40 bridge in Oklahoma the night before the barge hit it and sent cars and trucks into the Arkansas River.

So he's back home, voluntarily re-crossing the country and looking for work. He was going through the ND alumni website and tracking down all the people he knew in college. We spoke here and there, but were never really friends, not the kind who hung out regularly. We chatted, but I don't know if I'll make an effort to meet up with him sometime. Maybe down the road, when we both find jobs in New York and it's a little easier.

I almost laughed, though, when he mentioned that while in California he caught up with an old friend of ours. "I think it's actually how I got to know you," he said (although we'd met before even getting to campus, both coming from New Jersey).

"I saw Colleen," he said. "She came home from Russia for Christmas, then took her mom back for a month afterwards."

I chuckled, not wanting to get into the whole long story about Colleen and me (and her psycho nature). And I thought to myself about the shock her mother must've experienced in going to Russia and seeing Colleen on the loose. That, or Colleen had a very quiet month with mom around.

Anyway, it's 12:45, the Nets won and are up 3-2, and my night at work is now done.

Off to my hot apartment, where a hot girlfriend will be asleep waiting for me.

Previous page: May 23: The day many things changed
Next page: Sunday morning in the Bronx

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?