THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Thursday, Sept. 13, 2001 - 10:21 p.m.

Kick some ass, McCain!

If I were registered for a political party, I would've voted in the presidential primary last year -- of course, New Jersey's is so late, it wouldn't have mattered. And if (note the emphasis) I were a registered Republican, I would've voted for John McCain, the Senator from Arizona.

The dude's a badass. HE'S the one I want in the White House right now. HE'S the one I want addressing the country and setting our minds at ease -- just a little. HE'S the one I want considering retaliation and answers to what's been happening.

Leave it to a former prisoner of war to know how to kick a little ass when provoked. Just consider these two sound bytes:

- "The unwarranted, unprovoked attacks on innocent Americans is clearly an act of war and one that requires that kind of response."

- "I say to our enemies: We are coming. God may have mercy on you, but we won't."

In just two statements, he's sounded more assuring, more confident, more coherent than the President. That phone call Bush made today to Gov. Pataki and Mayor Guiliani in New York sounded ridiculous -- with each pause, it seemed as if he waited for an aide to write down what he should say on a cue card. He expressed concern at helping the people of New York, the "people of your good area." Um, seems to me like you'd want to say "the good people of your area."

I know I shouldn't criticize the President now, that we should unite behind him. And I'm happy to see our government banding together. I'm glad Bush is surrounded by intelligent, knowledgable advisors. The decisions he's been making and will have to make should not be made by one person.

But I just think I'd rather have a former prisoner of war speaking to me than a former C-student frat boy.

- - -

I wonder when it will feel like Normal again. I wonder when we'll wake up and our first thoughts will not be, "The World Trade Center is gone." I wonder when we'll finally be able to say we've moved on. I wonder when we'll be back to the routine. I wonder when we'll finish grieving and mourning -- and I wonder how many of us will be able to finish grieving and mourning. I wonder when we'll smile again because we feel safe, comfortable. I wonder when New York will bustle again. I wonder when Ashleigh Banfield will get to leave her corner in lower Manhattan and return to her MSNBC studio job as "Newsfront" anchor. I wonder when we'll be able to cheer at sporting events again. I wonder when New York will feel like it did. I wonder what will emerge from the rubble at Ground Zero. I wonder what the memorial will look like. I wonder how New York will rebuild. I wonder what the view will be from the Jersey Shore. I wonder if the Empire State Building will be lonely.

I wonder how many of these things I'll still be wondering in 20 years.

Previous page: Looking into the void
Next page: Thanks for writing

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?