THE LAST FIVE ...

Closing up shop
- Wednesday, Aug. 02, 2006

It may be time for a change
- Wednesday, May 17, 2006

Entry in the air
- Friday, April 21, 2006

Still here
- Thursday, April 20, 2006

Music of the moment
- Wednesday, March 1, 2006

Or ... BE RANDOM!


GOOD READS

101 in 1001
American Road Trip, 1998


OTHER PEOPLE

Chupatintas
Dancing Brave
Fugging It Up
Kitty Sandwich
Mister Zero
Sideways Rain
Ultratart
Velcrometer


THE BASICS

My crew
Latest
Older
Notes
Our host
Profile

Friday, Apr. 25, 2003 - 2:26 p.m.

Jetsetter

Some recent entries aside, I really have been in a happy, good mood lately. It'll get better when the weather remains sunny and 60s, because these lapses into 40s and 50s are just uncalled for.

Yesterday, I got frustrated with unorganization at work and went out to walk a lap around the building, squeezing my stress ball the whole time. It's not a big building, but you go down a hill to the back, then back up, so it was OK. Not much to look at, unfortunately. I wish we could have one of those offices in a more serene setting, with trees and maybe even a path through the trees or something. But whatcha gonna do? When it gets nice, I'll take more lunches outside, maybe take a drive just to unwind when things get hectic.

But Dylan doesn't have to leave early today, so I won't have to oversee everything until closing, and our managing editor is out today so maybe things will go a little more smoothly (just because there's one less person who has to look at everything). Plus, our executive editor has been on vacation the past two weeks, so we're really down two. So barring me having to check one of the hairier stories and the possibility of it being worked on until 9 p.m., I shouldn't be here too late tonight, and tomorrow Casey and I have the Allentown Adventure � driving out there to meet her dad to get her winter tires replaced by her summer ones. Then we'll take the tires down to my parents for storage in The Shed (no, not that shed), and then shoot back up for Kerry's birthday in the City. We'll stay over tomorrow night, then come back on Sunday and, barring any severe hangovers, put together the final MARKOR piece, thus completing our ongoing obsession with IKEA. For the time being, that is.

But the fun doesn't stop there, oh no! After slogging through another week, we'll head out to the Hamptons next Friday. "Don't forget to hold out your pinky when you drink tea," my friend Dave said. But I got him back because the following weekend he's going to a racing school in West Virginia, so I retaliated with a West Virginia joke. Take that, Dave!

After the Hamptons, Casey goes away overnight the following weekend for a bridal shower, so I'm thinking of a baseball tour through New Jersey � Notre Dame at Rutgers, Lakewood, Trenton � with an overnight stop to the folks' for Mother's Day. The weekend after that, we've got no plans so far, so an open weekend will certainly be nice. Maybe a day trip or an afternoon in the city would be nice.

The best part is the week after that � a four-day week! We're taking Friday the 23rd off to go to Cape Cod for Memorial Day weekend, which means a four-day week the following week! Two four-day weeks! I love it!

And then it's basically summer. Wo-hoo!

<><><>

I like my new copy breakers. They're nothing flashing, but they're different. They're diamonds, like baseball. They're not as cool as Heather's (see above Shed link, I'm not link pimping her out ... today), which is something like I was hoping to do. I wanted to get an image of a pencil or something to use as a copy breaker, but I never got it all figured out.

But that's not the reason for the change in thought. I almost forgot to write about last night's weird dreams, and Miss-Edith's entry reminded me to do so.

Sometime last night, I dreamt that two high school friends and I were out at some bar that ended up closing at like 11:30, so it was pretty lame. I think Matt was one of the HS friends, but the other I'm certain of � it was Joe, who was one of my best friends from like seventh through 12th grades, but we've hardly talked since then, and only when we've run into one another at a bar or the bank. So he was one of the people out with me, and when it was time to go, all of a sudden my left knee went numb or something. It was just so weak, I couldn't walk on it. I could stand fine on my right knee, but when I tried to walk, I'd crumple to the ground as soon as I put my weight on my left leg. I have dreams like this all the time, where I have some sort of injury where I can't move yet I need to be somewhere.

Then my other dream was about Kelly Ripa, and she was all short and soft and I hugged her and she wanted me. I told Casey and she said, "That's OK. You can fuck Kelly Ripa in your dreams." And I should be able to fuck who I want in my dreams, as should Casey, because they're only dreams, dammit! If you can't fuck who you want in your dreams, what's the point of dreams? And then we'd have to get rid of the phrase "in your dreams." And women at bars wouldn't be so powerful, because when they'd turn down a guy's advances by saying, "In your dreams," the guys will just be like, "Thank you!" and go off and fall asleep.

But, alas, I didn't bump and grind with Kelly Ripa (bring it, Google), but I got a pretty nice hug out of it.

Previous page: We'll find them, just as soon as we plant them
Next page: Is it a scam, or is it just me?

� 1998-2004 DC Products. All rights reserved.

Yeah, sorry I have to be all legal on you here, but unless otherwise indicated, all that you read here is mine, mine, mine. But feel free to quote me or make fun of me or borrow what I write and send it out as an e-mail forward to all your friends, family and coworkers. Just don't say it's yours, you know?